hot air balloons

I went to a hot air balloon festival this morning! I wasn’t sure if the balloons would launch (rain last night and in the forecast for today) but I managed to drag myself out of bed and head there anyway (they launch at dawn, dawn comes awfully early) – just in case.

They did launch! And it was fabulous! There was a field full of colorful balloons that slowly inflated and then launched. At first, I was disappointed that the sky was cloudy but, when I saw my photos, I was disappointed no more. In fact, I was clap-my-hands-with-glee pleased.

13 Responses to “hot air balloons”

  1. No worries about a cloudy sky (I prefer cloudy skies, in fact) – this shot is beautiful! I love the blue ♥

  2. I was hoping this picture would be here as well. It’s gorgeous. I hope there are more…I love bright colors!

  3. wow how vibrant and so exciting looking up into the vastness of it

  4. I remember that! Every year we’d be driving down I5 and instantly feel giddy at all the balloons in view. We always promised ourselves we’d go next year. Of course, we never did manage it. I’m so very glad that you did.

  5. Oh no! i should have been there!! that is a fantastic photograph! you did really good 🙂 i hope we get to see more. i’m mad at myself now for not looking at my calendar and writing back to you when you suggested this…but dawn..hmm..that is early isn’t it? but not for a photographer of your caliber girl 🙂
    Xo

  6. This is one white sky tht adds to the shot. Amazing photo Elizabeth 🙂

  7. Fantastic!! Love your point of view..the color. FUN!!!

  8. I love the colors and the contrast. Post more. 🙂

  9. Beautiful! I love the whitish sky against the balloon colors- such a cool contrast.

  10. Oh, what a beautiful shot, E!!

  11. Wow, no disappointment at all. You captured these beautifully!
    xo

  12. Wow, fabulous! I love hot air balloons and this is a great image of one. nicely done.

Leave a Reply

