want to hear something funny?

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve had this crazy urge to redecorate and organize and clean and clear out. I moved everything between closets. I went through my clothes and shoes. I figured out how to rearrange the stuff in the spare room closet so I could fit my extra car seat inside. I finally finished emptying out the spare room and turned it into my “art studio”. I took down some art and put up some new art. I am dying to paint my spare room, if I could just figure out what color. I cleaned my walls. Etc.

Then, the reason hit me.

Wait for it.

I’m nesting!

Yes, it’s true. I giggled for days.

The process of creation for women can apply to both a physical birth as well as a creative birth. Just as we give birth to children, we give birth to ideas and projects. In my case, it is the latter (though I am not entirely sure what it is yet). It’s just that since I have never had any desire for children, the idea that I am nesting makes me laugh.

I was telling my younger sister about this earlier. When I mentioned my desire to paint the spare room, she said, “Oh, you mean you want to paint the nursery?!” (I had just explained the whole creative birth thing to her.)

12 Responses to “want to hear something funny?”

  1. I don’t know your sister, but I think I like her a lot. πŸ™‚

  2. What a great concept! Yes – it does sound like you’re ‘nesting’…preparing to give birth to a whole new life!!! You sister said it perfectly!!!

  3. Your sister’s comment is a crack up.
    Nesting usually occurs in the last trimester of pregnancy so this means you should give birth to some creative idea’s really soon πŸ™‚

  4. oh..you…had…me …there…for…a…second…perhaps a kitty?

  5. fkdupdad: I thought so!

    toni: she is great .. I think I posted a photo of her with her kitty around xmas time.

    marcie: I am, but I don’t think I’m in the last trimester of that, LOL

    liss: let’s hope so!

    elk: no kitty yet .. I told Atlas that perhaps we’ll move out east someday so he can live *near* kitties (his kitty cousins) instead. πŸ˜‰

    jen: πŸ™‚

  6. They look like fuscia to me too.

  7. Teehee! That could explain a few things going on in my life right now…I am just about finished studying and am chomping at the bit to do a major clear out…plus I have lots of ideas in the pipeline for crafty-ness which I have had to put on hold whilst studying…I feel some serious “nesting” coming on!

  8. jerry: thanks for the confirmation! I don’t actually know what fuscia (sp?) look like, but I thought my neighbor mentioned that that’s what they were πŸ™‚

    martina: yup, you must be in that phase too!

  9. I love it! I am doing the same thing. I already had a Sparkle Room. (Read – spare room turned play place. I’m not artist enough to call it a studio.) Anyway, I had the Sparkle Room but hadn’t made it my own. I am now, though.

    In case you were wondering, the walls are the palest lilac.

  10. […] i am nesting online as well .. since i decided to switch my blogs from wordpress over to […]

Leave a Reply

