modern art

“If you hear a voice within you say ‘you cannot paint’, then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced.” -Van Gogh

and so I am. it is very therapeutic.

you can probably tell from my painting that I am a fan of modern art, abstract art .. the kind of art that you interpret for yourself. there are paintings that stop me in my tracks and reach inside my chest and grab my heart in a deep, visceral way.

whenever I’m admiring paintings in galleries, I hear it: “I could do that”, “they just threw paint on canvas”, “anyone could do that”, “how is that art” .. it’s easy to tell that the voices have never actually tried it themselves. if you saw what the painting looked like in my head – and compared it to the result – you’d know why.

13 Responses to “modern art”

  1. Interesting. Especially the last sentence. I don’t understand or like modern art but don’t mind if others do. πŸ™‚ I saw a fabulous watercolor exhibit at the museum this week and wish I had the time to pull out the paints again….there were so many wonderful paintings (no modern ones tho.) πŸ˜‰

  2. i love modern art. what a beautiful quote, my friend. i will keep it close.
    xo

  3. When I see works by Pollock (none in person, so maybe that would change things), I look at it and go, Huh? I just don’t get it. But when I look at works by Kandinsky, I can get lost in them forever. I can completely understand your last sentence.

  4. i came across an artist in California that holds classes, that i think she calls, “Painting from the Wild Heart.” i probably should have researched it more before mentioning it here. they are not classes in the “class” sense, they’re more like painting to release the feelings in you that you subconsciously have bottled up for years… people say it is the most liberating thing they’ve ever done, and some of the results are quite beautiful. i love color and texture and the total MYSTERY of abstract art. it’s like you’re inside the heart and the head of the artist! you go girl. thanks for sharing!

  5. becca: your comment made me LOL. I’m glad you don’t mind if we like modern art. *she giggles*

    christina: isn’t it a great quote! I first saw it on the lid of my bottle of Honest Tea and then I started seeing it everywhere.

    toni: I love Kandinsky. In an art class when I was little, we had to pick 3 shapes and do a painting based entirely on those 3 shapes. I picked a music note, square, and straight line I think. It turned out very Kandinsky-like – and I still remember that as being one of my most favorite pieces. I wanted my mom to frame it, but she framed a horrific watercolor of mine instead. I had to stare at that watercolor above my bed for years .. ugh.

    tammy: I’ll check into that – thanks! I was definitely releasing emotions while painting .. I had a bout of tears at one point. πŸ™‚

  6. Do you still have your Kandinsky-esque painting? You should frame it yourself, E. πŸ˜‰

  7. alas, it was thrown out .. 😦

  8. Whenever I hear comments like that, I always think, “Shows how much you know about art.”

    I love these colors you’ve put together.

  9. but you are doing it…baby steps E! I am pleased that you shared this

  10. Looks like the way my brain felt on Sunday morning.

    I admire modern art as I dont beleive it is an easy thing to do well. It looks yo your have a talent for this.

  11. relyn: oh, I think that too .. πŸ™‚ I don’t know a lot about art and I still would never have thought that ..

    elk: baby steps, indeed!

    liss: LOL .. I hope your brain feels less muddled now!

  12. I’m glad you’re having fun… I love your color palette.

  13. amy: I really am!

Leave a Reply

