no. 10

my response to the tenth challenge from The Four 

an interpretation for the quote:

“your way begins on the other side

 become the sky

 take an axe to the prison wall,

 escape

 walk out like someone

 suddenly born into color

 do it now.”

– rumi

14 Responses to “no. 10”

  1. Really interesting colour and texture to this shot.

    Is it a snake of some sort? I am trying to figure out the items you used in this shot.

  2. I love the colors… I’m trying to figure out how you got this image..

  3. I painted it 🙂

  4. love the rumi perspective . . . and am trying to love the image! but my childhood gets in the way . . . when we lived a year in Virginia, in a small village in the blue ridge mountains, we would walk barefoot, home in the dark on the pavement. there would be giant slugs that stuck to our little feet . . . UGH !!!!! and i do love every part of the painting except for the purple slug. LOL. see, isn’t it wonderful how art becomes a personal experience to so many people in so many different ways? 🙂 was there duct tape used in this painting? 🙂

  5. LOL .. I’m with you on that UGH! I rather like the purple slug, though it was less slug-like in my head. It wasn’t quite what I was envisioning when I started painting that part, but I decided it worked for now. And yes, duct tape was involved. 🙂

  6. i like all the action outside the box.

  7. So is this 3-D then? Because it sure looks like it has dimension. I really like it, E. I’ve been trying to figure out what to do for a response to the challenge and the easiest thing would be to drive up the hill a block or two and take a picture of the prison. But that’s just too easy! 🙂

  8. not 3-D .. but it has layers of duct tape on part of it for texture, and I used things like pine cones and bubble wrap and .. to add some of the paint to give the appearance of texture.

    the prison might be easy, but it is a good interpretation regardless! 🙂

  9. wow, that is kind of cool actually! 🙂 ……..although i don’t love the snakey thing too much, makes me think of snakes

  10. WOW! Love the abstract nature..the color and texture..and especially how you tied it in with the Rumi quote.

  11. liss: not a snake .. it was just a swirl .. though not exactly the swirl I was trying for, LOL

    jen: me too

    helen: perhaps I will change it before you come visit .. else you might be startled in the middle of the night when you stumble into the hallway, LOL

    marcie: thanks!

  12. holly: thanks!

  13. […] of the closet and put them in a basket downstairs (so they were always within reach). i finished a painting. i fell in love with another painting. the list goes on. clearly there is much to be said for […]

Leave a Reply

