landing zone

I remember the first time I mustered up the courage to attempt a dive from the high diving board at our local college. I stood on the board staring at the pool far below, and dived. It was a most spectacular belly flop. I don’t think my belly has ever felt such pain.

Somehow, this photo made me think of that story – mostly because I imagine the geese would’ve landed with much more grace.

6 Responses to “landing zone”

  1. I think we all have had at least one dive like that, LOL.

  2. was that at suomi or tech? i did the same thing….LOL….must be a yooper right of passage!

  3. I had one off the high dive where just the back of my feet hit the board. I attempted the dive anyway, but I ended up hitting the water partially on my back. Of course the hottest guy in school was watching me. So rather than swimming to the other side of the pool and running away like I wanted to do, I swam over to him to analyze the situation. At least I didn’t feel like a wimp for slinking off to hide. šŸ˜›

  4. hahahaha :)……i must be smarter because i never tried that. or, of course, it could be because i don’t even know how to dive from anywhere :)………this story gives a nice visual

  5. helen: I’m glad you enjoyed the visual šŸ™‚

    toni: now that was brave! I would’ve slunk away to hide for sure

    ann b: tech! I was trying to remember if I ever braved a dive off that board again .. one isn’t coming to mind. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one!

    maryann: šŸ™‚

    cbd: I think I’ve had one good one and the rest were like that, LOL

Leave a Reply

