the land of 10,000 lakes

I have been to Minnesota many times in my life, but only seldom to the more rural areas west of the Twin Cities. I must confess that I did not see the beauty in those rural areas back then. On this visit, I did. As I drove to a friend’s house, I was itching to stop and capture the beauty of the lakes, and the rolling farmlands, and the barns, and the pelicans, and the golden-brown cattails. I did stop and take this photo – but I captured most of the scenes in my mind instead. The pelicans were most uncooperative.

6 Responses to “the land of 10,000 lakes”

  1. Looks so familiar..like the lakes around here. Love the soft colors.

  2. I think in the past few years I started appreciated the beauty of the land around here. As a teen it was so boring, of course! πŸ˜€ But I love the fields- even if they give me allergies. I love the planting, the growing, and most of all, the harvesting in the fall. …I do not, however, like swimming in any of the 10,000 lakes. πŸ˜€

  3. Sometimes maturity and a camera is all it takes to see the beauty in things in which we didn’t see it before. πŸ˜‰ We don’t have lakes like that around here, but we do have a reservoir which collects irrigation water. The reservoir and the coulees have cattails, which I’ve always liked.

  4. toni: very true, though I probably had a camera then too πŸ™‚

    laura: I don’t think I’ve ever gone swimming in them .. I suspect it’s like swimming in the lake in Iowa City. Not like Lake Superior. πŸ˜‰

    marcie: I loved that soft gold and brown color ..

  5. this is great–as is the promise of green peeping up through the cattails

  6. I am amazed that there is 10,000 lakes in one state. That’s a lot of water.

    I am glad you stopped to capture the beauty this visit.

Leave a Reply

