let them eat cake

I’m back! Oh, it was a lovely vacation – a family wedding, time with old and new friends, an MD/PhD graduation, lots of time with Amy and Katherine (and the kitties), shopping at Iowa City’s art galleries, a hike, pendant making, and good food. And photo-taking, of course. I am set for blog photos for months.

Amy made me a birthday cake. Very simple – lemon cake with whipped cream and strawberries. Doesn’t it look yummy?! It was. Very.

I hope you had a great week too!

21 Responses to “let them eat cake”

  1. Missed you, E – glad you’re back! That cake does look yummy. Belated Happy Birthday!!

  2. welcome home!

    happy belated birthday!

    and I had come over a bit ago when you posted that seagull overlooking the people photo – it totally caught my fancy, such a fun shot.

  3. Looks yummy!!! Welcome home..hope it was grand!!!

  4. I wish I could have that for breakfast instead of stinkin’ oatmeal! Glad you had a good trip šŸ™‚

  5. Fresh strawberries and cream, no better way to decorate a cake in my eyes.

    Looks lovely. Happy birthday too.

  6. Looks REALLY yummy! I’m glad you had a good vacation- it was so great to meet you! šŸ™‚

  7. Yummy… it looks so tasty… I should make it again. šŸ™‚

  8. could even eat the picture ! and welcome back ! and went over to visit chips or no chips . . . happy smile on my face for all of you! okay, enuf exclam points i think. šŸ™‚

  9. yum….it’s almost lunchtime and this cake look delicious!!!!!…..making me very hungry:)

  10. welcome home, lib! glad you had fun on your trip. it was nice to see you, only it was too short a time. never made it to the wedding…..we did get a dog!

  11. Good to have you back and the cake looks delicious. Happy birthday.

  12. so happy to hear you had a nice family time and what a luscious looking cake ~ elk

  13. Wow! You sure can pack it into a week! Did your bro coordinate the wedding with Amy’s graduation time on purpose or was it a happy accident? I meant to send you a birthday card this year but we were in Alabama when it came (and went) so I forgot. Happy belated…what a lovely cake Amy made.

  14. Dear Elizabeth, Happy Birthday! Blessings and peace to another year of life.

  15. hmn: thanks!

    becca: nope, a lucky coincidence šŸ™‚

    elk: it was luscious. I really should make one myself, except that first I need another round cake pan.

    kym: thanks! it is good to be home

    ann: YAY !!! I can’t wait to hear stories and see photos! it was wonderful to see you too. šŸ™‚

    helen: sorry .. but that is why you should not play during school. šŸ˜‰

    tammy: exclamation points are always good. I like to use them myself. šŸ˜‰

  16. amy: you really should. don’t you have leftover whipping cream?

    laura: it was great to meet YOU šŸ™‚

    liss: I agree. except maybe raspberries and cream.

    ww: oatmeal is good too. but yes, cake is better, LOL.

    marcie: it really was

    sharyn: I’m glad you liked it. I thought it was so funny!

    toni: thanks!

    iheartfilm: I agree

  17. Looks scrumptious. Strawberries are so delicous when they’re in season here in the States!

  18. Happy Belated Birthday…how late am I in the birthday wishes? That cake looks so good…especially since I am sipping a cup of coffee without anything sweet to go with it.

  19. julie: aren’t they?!

    sue: just a month behind šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

