checkmate

I must have cats on the brain

(atlas and I almost got a kitty – but we decided to wait for another one because she seemed a bit too nervous of him)

every time I see this photo, I think that’s a cat behind the sculpture

can you see it?

16 Responses to “checkmate”

  1. 🙂 Actually, I can see it. Wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t pointed it out. As a cat lover you had me captivated with your words. Love the image. I don’t know how to play chess, but I’ve always been intrigued by the board and pieces. Seems like a thing of beauty.

  2. I see it, too. I think Atlas needs a kitty. A white and gold kitty. 😀 My son attempted to teach me chess and I tried playing on the computer, but I got bored. 🙄

  3. Took me a moment..but then found the little ears in the far distance. Nice image!

  4. might i suggest a kitten? normally i think it’s grand to adopt an older kitty, but a kitten is less likely to be so afraid (esp. if they come from a home with a dog).

    just my 2 cents. 🙂 good luck! i do love the kitties!

  5. Yep, I see it! I like this pic.

    Hey, color really does make a difference in temperament of cats and for people who are sometimes allergic to cats. Studies have been done that show that cats with lighter colored hair are less likely to cause allergy problems in people than cats with darker hair. Also, the soft tannish/orangish kitties are much more likely to be mellow and non-skittish than other kitties. Our Lucy is mostly white with some dark grey; she is shy around people she doesn’t know, but warms up to you after a bit. Also, she hissed at Tucker his first three months that he came to live with us, but now they are best buds, cuddling every morning. The light tan kitty my in-laws got never showed one scared hair about Tuck. Their dark grey/black stiped cat however is deathly afraid of everything that moves besides my in-laws. I’m a “cat” person and Simon still won’t let me touch him!

  6. the color and feel just marvel!

  7. He’s just waiting for the check mate

  8. I just realized that this reminds me of Alice in Wonderland – the Cheshire cat and the life size chess game ..

    maryann: I expect so!

    elk: thanks!

    sharyn: yay! I’m not the only one

    holly: MUCH appreciate the info. I will keep my eye out for a yellowish kitty. 🙂

    maya: that’s in my mind .. though I’ve also thought maybe an older cat who came from a home that had dogs. There is one cat in our neighborhood who lives with a boxer and she is not afraid of Atlas at all.

    marcie: thanks

    toni: it’s a fun game .. but I haven’t played in a while.

    sherri: I’ve always been intrigued by the idea of a lovely chess board – something that was both gorgeous and functional. Someday ..

  9. i read ‘behind the sculpture’ as “the inspiration”, or as if the kitty knocked over the pieces and then they were bronzed as they fell. then i read marcie’s comment. this is my second or third visit here tonight, and i didn’t see the kitty til now!! 🙂

  10. I can see the resemblance but I am more fascinated by the sculpture. It’s really interesting

  11. I, too, can see the kitty but only because you pointed “it” out. The sculpture had my total attention at first. Magical piece. (Nice perspective you took it from, too!)

  12. I actually see the cat in two ways. First I saw the cat in profile laying down — head up on the left. Then I saw the cat head-on from about the eyes up – right ear up and left ear folded over.

  13. they don’t seem. they really are. but the whole composition has an interesting air. i really like it. congrats

  14. i hate when that happens, you will never not see the cat.

  15. margie: I actually don’t mind it .. it is reminding me of Alice in Wonderland. 🙂

    romina: true .. though we have found cats who are not nervous of him at all! that’s what we’re looking for ..

    jerry: oooh – now I see the other way too! I saw the second way originally.

    kym: thanks! I had to look pretty silly to get it. 😉

    liss: I loved it. I saw a photo of it a while back and wondered where it was. Then we stumbled across it and I was so excited!

    jen: good story! perhaps that’s exactly what happened – and my camera captured the ghost of the cat that started it all!

Leave a Reply

