an offering

“Let the beauty we love be what we do.

There are hundreds of ways to kneel and kiss the ground.

 

The breeze at dawn has secrets to tell you.

Don’t go back to sleep.

You must ask for what you really want.

Don’t go back to sleep.

People are going back and forth across the doorsill

where the two worlds touch.

The door is round and open.

Don’t go back to sleep.”

– Rumi

12 Responses to “an offering”

  1. well, i do feel like i am waking up from a dream. i read rumi’s words, your selection three times with no pausing in between… i ususally want to sink back into my dream, but i can never go back, so it does seem right to be aware, awake. but i don’t wanna!!!!! 🙂

  2. How did you take that picture? It’s so soft and beautiful, just like the dawn in the poem. 🙂

  3. julie: I put my camera much too close to a flower. I wanted to see what it would look like.

    jen: I do feel that too .. if it’s a particularly good dream. 🙂

  4. Buster and Buddy won’t let me go back to sleep. Six a.m., even on weekends. 😉

  5. this is a lovely abstract shot.

    Sleep is something I dont get enough of.

  6. Beautiful image paired with a beautiful quote. Rumi is always so inspiring.

  7. i relish this photo with poem to match

    elk

  8. The poem and image are lovely. Very peaceful.

  9. i start every morning with retinal perspectives. sitting here now with the early cool air thru the open window, birds busy, my true love Zeke, licking his doggy paws from our walk. . . and your picture and rumi’s poem are a gift! thank you E!

  10. . . . by the way . . . am i the only one out here that needs an Atlas picture fix? can’t get enough of that puppy and it’s been a long time.

  11. So ethereal…..image and words…..

  12. toni: oh dear .. that is early!

    liss: I’m not sure I do either. But I feel quite sure you get even less – so I shall not complain 🙂

    marcie: rumi is very inspiring – I totally agree

    elk/amy/ww: thanks

    tammy: yes, I have been remiss 😉

Leave a Reply

