distraction

I have not been very good at commenting on all of my favorite blogs lately. For that, I apologize. There are boxes and bins and outdoor gear and magazines lying all around my home and it is distracting me – I do not like clutter.

But – I am waiting for a dining room table to arrive so the chairs must stay in their boxes until then (they are supposed to set everything up and take away the packaging). I reorganized the living room to make room for the table, and turned my old dining room into a “library” in the process. That freed up space in the spare room that I was using as a storage room (there is not much storage space in this apartment). That motivated me to find a way to clear out the storage bins so I can have a real spare room – that I can use for art and creative projects and yoga and reiki sessions. That gave me the idea to turn my unused downstairs bathroom into a storage room. That meant I had to empty the storage bins in order to carry them and their contents downstairs. That motivated me to clean out my closet, where I found about a million issues of Bark and Real Simple. Of course, I can’t just throw them out; I am re-reading them (that is why I save them in the first place – I enjoy reading them just as much the second time).

You can see why I’m distracted. It will be lovely when my home is as clear as this patio again.

16 Responses to “distraction”

  1. I LOVE THIS POST! We seem to be on a wavelength concerning clearing clutter, except you are way ahead of me in the energy department! I have this room upstairs that is full of boxes (mostly things from my mother’s life that I am paralyzed to deal with…which is why I started the Clutterquake blog to begin with!) that I want to turn into my yoga/meditation space.

    It is so exciting all that you’ve done! Did you move from your apartment into a house? Maybe I missed out on some pertinent information…..

    This shot, btw, is fantastic.

  2. IFeel the same way, about commenting on my favourite blogs. I have been around as much as I would like either. There is so much to do in so little time.

    It sound like you have great plans for you house, I am sure once you have done all your re-arranging it will be very satisfying.

  3. I understand – perfectly – about commenting and returning comments. Sometimes there is just not time in the day for these things. Love your point-of-view in this image. Good luck with your new dining room set!

  4. Holy moly, busy girl! I love how one project leads to another. I know the result will be perfect for you…good luck!

    I got a subscription to Realsimple for my birthday! I love that magazine.

  5. I hate clutter too. It’s just a matter of finding time to clean it!

  6. geesh… you are on a roll, but I bet it feel so good to get that stuff done and out of the way. I dislike clutter as well…. although I’m finding myself disliking other people’s clutter more than my own these days. My clutter is useful. πŸ™‚

  7. truth be told, it’s my own fault the clutter exists. It was stored nicely until I started my projects. πŸ˜‰

  8. julie: I feel the same way. Except I didn’t remember that I still had copies of RS; I thought I read them all already.

    lauren: I have the time. I just get distracted. πŸ™‚

    leanne: I LOVE it too! It is one of my favorite magazines. I had every single magazine (minus 1) since the magazine was started stored in my closet at one point. I cancelled my subscription last year; however, because I wasn’t getting to any of my magazines and they were piling up unread. I hate that feeling.

    marcie: thanks! I expect I will love it!

    liss: it will be *very* satisfying! thanks.

    lydia: we can motivate each other! No, I didn’t move .. the table is just larger than I would put in the assumed dining area so it sort of set everything in motion. A forcing function, if you will. πŸ˜‰

  9. nice tie in with the amazing image…do not work too hard!! ELK

  10. I’ve been having a hard time making the rounds to everybody lately on a daily basis, too. Too much going on and blogging and commenting takes so much time! Hey, E, when you are done with your place, you can come to mine and help me de-clutter. Actually what my home really needs is a good spring cleaning. I hate cleaning. I LOVE this capture – I think it is one of my favorites. Yes, definitely a favorite.

  11. elk: oh, I won’t. πŸ™‚

    toni: I totally would! If you just lived closer .. I actually love to organize and de-clutter. Not cleaning though .. some day I will give in and sign up for a cleaning service. It’s not that I really mind the cleaning all that much .. it’s just that there are a million other things I’d rather do instead.

  12. That’s definitely snowballing!

    Nice photo!

  13. i only wish my own snowballing effect would lead to some sustainable accomplishments. i snowball from room to room, task to task and idea to idea. then cross back and forth like a cats’ cradle game gone bad. i think it is amazing that you can actually identify your trail and know where you want it to end! is that the mansion?

  14. I have been waaaay distracted lately, too. But, I ain’t apologizing! πŸ™‚

  15. ww: well, I am sorry .. πŸ™‚

    robin: it is! well .. I have identified the end .. but I am not there yet.

    candace: snowball, it was. thanks!

  16. Hi. I found my way here by a fairly cicuitous route and greatly enjoyed this post. De-cluttering is a subject dear to my heart. I hate clutter but I live with a real clutterholic who can’t throw anything away. My top tip: never leave a room empty-handed: there’s nearly always something that can usefully be carried with you to your destination. Heard this tip years ago and it’s a goodie.

Leave a Reply

