a bit of housekeeping

Laura tagged me for a self-portrait a while back. I didn’t follow the rules exactly, but I did snap this photo while I was at Pittock Mansion. I was trying to figure out how to capture all the patterns in this bedroom; they made my head spin.

Atlas is 6 today! This morning, I gave him a happy birthday belly rub and told him that I love him even more today than I did yesterday, when he was only 5 years and 364 days old.

For those who didn’t go back and check the comments, I thought I’d mention that jenny was the winner of the Ghost in the Glass CD. Jenny: I hope you enjoy it!

And in case you’re wondering – I did decide on a name – Blue Lotus Wellness. Thanks for all the ideas! My first blog post explains why I chose that particular name.

15 Responses to “a bit of housekeeping”

  1. Congrats on the new blog, E. You are well on your way to establishing a presence. Great idea for the self portrait. I’ve been wanting to do one, but only from the nose up. πŸ˜›

  2. they are rather dizzying, but beautiful, lovely shot.

  3. I was tagged for a self-portrait too πŸ™‚

    Defiantly, a lot of pattern in that room. Not somewhere you’d want to retire to if you’d had a big night drinking.

    Congrats on the new blog and name. I like it.

  4. Love the patterns and textures and how they leave just enough space for your ‘self’!!!

  5. I couldn’t imagine that you were in your own bedroom… great self portrait & happy Bs to Atlas.

  6. Whoever decorated that bedroom was not afraid of pattern in the least….not what you’d call a restful room.

    BTW, I like the name you’ve chosen.

  7. a) I didn’t write the rules, but this totally qualifies.
    2) Happy Birthday, Atlas! Muah!
    c) I REALLY want to visit that ‘little house’.

  8. For a minute, I thought that was a room in your home and I thought you were incredibly brave for going for all that pattern. πŸ™‚ Cool self-portrait, very fitting (that we can see you taking the picture!). And once again, “Happy Birthday, Atlas!”

  9. happy birthday atlas! πŸ™‚ We love you, and your kitty-cousins do too, even though they don’t know it. πŸ™‚

  10. Yay….Happy Birthday Atlas!!!!

  11. happy birthday to the king! another of your photos today! i feel so special to be able to say i was there πŸ™‚

    congrats on the new site and name elizabeth!

  12. That is the most appropriate self-portrait I’ve seen yet. I still need to send you the details on the dream I had…soon. (It’s not boring to tell someone your dreams if it’s pertinant information). πŸ™‚

  13. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I love the chance to “discover” new blogs and make new friends.

    I love, love, love the Pittock Mansion. Did you know that there is a smaller home (called Craigderrick – spelled it phonetically – Castle) in Victoria B.C. by the same architect? It is marvelous. Between it and Buchart Gardens, it’s a trip well worth taking.

  14. relyn: I had not heard of that home, but I have heard that those gardens are absolutely beautiful. Thanks for the tip! Vancouver is on my to-visit list. Someday!

    leanne: it is appropriate, isn’t it. πŸ™‚

    robin: the king thanks you! By the way, I can make next Saturday’s meet-up. I hope you can too!

    ww: thanks! πŸ™‚

    amy: awwwww .. I really hope they can all meet someday.

    julie: oh, man .. trust me when I say that you will never see that much pattern in my home, LOL

    jen: it was gorgeous!

  15. becca: no, it was not restful. much too busy and distracting for me.

    maryann: solid colors for me. πŸ˜‰ I like my patterns in artwork or photos, not on the wall itself.

    marcie: I liked how it broke the pattern up just enough ..

    liss: oh my .. can you imagine lying on the bed after too much to drink?! LOL .. my head hurts thinking about it

    suvarna: thanks!

    toni: LOL .. I have a series on pbase of that exact shot. I took shots of some sisters and compared them. It was a funny late-night project.

Leave a Reply

