beauty in the ordinary

I spent the afternoon touring Pittock Mansion with fellow photographers Robin and Scott.

My favorite parts of the mansion were the sleeping porches (now I want a sleeping porch), the bathrooms (simple and beautiful) and the kitchen/pantries (I also want an old-time stove).

I think this is my favorite shot from today. It reminds me of my tag-line – beauty in the ordinary. It was so striking that I was almost tempted to set up a similar display in my kitchen. Not to use, of course. Just to admire.

15 Responses to “beauty in the ordinary”

  1. i likeee. these be the tools of my trade.

  2. awwww aren’t those just the sweetest brooms and mops. i think we spent more time there than anywhere else:) i am almost ready to post mine! it was very fun elizabeth 🙂

  3. Excellent shot, E. I like the collection of old pails. Still good and being put to use. Kinda like me. 🙂

  4. Something about this reminds me of Shaker design–clean lines, I think. Simple and sweet.

  5. I like your perspective here.

    You are right – there is definitely beauty in the ordinary.

  6. I loved this photo as soon as it popped up. It reminds me of that one you sent for Christmas. Lovely.

  7. i got my post up on my blog elizabeth! cool black and whites!

  8. wonderful shot. I hope you used the broom before lying on the floor to get this shot.

    I like where the buckets are positioned next to the window. 🙂

  9. You’ve truly created art out of the everyday ordinary. Love the colors and tones..not to mention your point-of-view.

  10. My in-laws have a “sleeping porch”/ “napping room” in their cottage. Mostly the kitties use it, but sometimes the kids and adults do too. 🙂

  11. I wish I could go on field trips with you guys…….*pouting*

  12. I love this shot ! Wonder what you had to do to get it 😉

  13. I **love* this shot of everyday life!!!

  14. Ooh, ooh, I just found your archive and this shot. Would you consider letting me use it in my Clutterquake blog. I’d love to place it in the sidebar and I’ll write a post about it referring back to your site.

    I will not in any way be upset or offended if you don’t want me to do this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

