where everything is music

Don’t worry about saving these songs!
And if one of our instruments breaks,
it doesn’t matter.
We have fallen into the place
where everything is music.
The strumming and the flute notes
rise into the atmosphere,
and even if the whole world’s harp
should burn up, there will still be
hidden instruments playing.
So the candle flickers and goes out.
We have a piece of flint, and a spark.
This singing art is sea foam.
The graceful movements come from a pearl
somewhere on the ocean floor.
Poems reach up like spindrift and the edge
of driftwood along the beach, wanting!
They derive
from a slow and powerful root
that we can’t see.
Stop the words now.
Open the window in the center of your chest,
and let the spirits fly in and out.
– Rumi, Where Everything is Music
12 Responses to “where everything is music”

  1. favorite grays in a lovely verse…you have captured the beach in a special way my dear ~ ELK

  2. WOW. Do you get to live near that? Just wondering!

  3. You’re mean, E. Mean, I tell you! Mean! I really need a live, in person, dose of ocean. Your posts the last few days are turning me green with envy. You have chosen a beautiful verse to go with your beautiful photo. Okay, so you aren’t really mean. πŸ˜‰

  4. elk: thank you πŸ™‚

    julie: it’s an hour or so west. aren’t I lucky?!

    toni: I think I should head your way quite often after seeing your photos! Don’t worry .. I only have a few more shots from this weekend to post, and then I’ll move on. Unless I head there this weekend *insert evil cackle* πŸ˜‰

  5. Music indeed! You should come on a photog trip to Northern Lower Michigan… lots of music here. πŸ™‚

  6. holly: I know! I especially want to visit Traverse City when the cherry blossoms are in bloom. Someday ..

  7. this sounds like an irish poem of freedom.

  8. Okay, I now stand by my original assertion. You ARE mean! πŸ™„

  9. Not sure which I love more – the Rumi quote..or the image. Excellent!

  10. I miss that coast……….my heart aches…….but maybe not for too long if I get my birthday wish! But that’s not till Sept!!

    I am glad that I get to come visit you for my pacific coast doses.

  11. fabulous perspective elizabeth! stunning!

  12. Aaaaah…this photo made me exhale. Good job !

Leave a Reply

