out of the woods and into the weeds

Well, Atlas has tonsillitis. Who knew that dogs could get tonsillitis? Certainly not me. Anyway, I feel that my intuition has been vindicated – again. I told three vets this month that, “I know it sounds silly .. and I don’t know how else to say this .. but he has been very aware of his throat since he came home from the doggy ranch.” Of course he was!

But .. this is how our evening went after he came home in his post-anesthesia groggy state.

: Atlas runs upstairs.

: Atlas stands and sways in front of the bed.

: Elizabeth fixes the blankets on the bed and Atlas jumps on.

: Elizabeth starts giving Atlas reiki.

: Atlas jumps up and runs frantically downstairs.

: Elizabeth runs downstairs, puts on her coat and shoes, and takes Atlas outside.

: Atlas walks 1, 2, 3, or 4 feet, stops, sits on the sidewalk, and looks sadly up at Elizabeth – with a look that says, “Why are you making me go for a walk? I don’t want to be out here!”

: Elizabeth and Atlas go back inside.

: Atlas sways by the doorway for a bit, then runs upstairs and jumps on the bed.

: Atlas jumps off the bed and runs frantically downstairs.

: Elizabeth runs downstairs, puts on her coat and shoes, and takes Atlas outside.

: Atlas walks 1, 2, 3, or 4 feet, stops, sits on the sidewalk, and looks sadly up at Elizabeth –Β with a look that says, “Why are you making me go for a walk? I don’t want to be out here!”

: Elizabeth and Atlas go back inside.

: Atlas runs upstairs and jumps on the bed.

: Atlas jumps off the bed and runs frantically downstairs.

: Elizabeth runs downstairs, puts on her shoes (she’s not even bothering to take her jacket off anymore), and takes Atlas outside.

: Atlas walks 1, 2, 3, or 4 feet, stops, sits on the sidewalk, and looks sadly up at Elizabeth – with a look that says, “Why are you making me go for a walk? I don’t want to be out here!”

: Elizabeth and Atlas go back inside.

This went on and on and on – for over two hours. Finally, I couldn’t stand it, and I made him go for a short walk – thinking it would help. You have never seen such a sad sad dog. He trailed along behind me and stopped every few feet to try to turn around and go home.

But .. it’s a new day. And he has antibiotics. And we both got some sleep. All will be well.

13 Responses to “out of the woods and into the weeds”

  1. Poor puppy, but lucky to have you for a mom. Hope he’s feeling better already!

  2. Ah, sounds just like a sick child. Or me when I’m sick. I never know what I want when I’m sick… hope he’s feeling better soon!

  3. Poor guy… and poor you. Hope he’s all better soon.

    Your image made me think that BigFoot was near.

  4. I did not know dogs could get tonsilitis. Poor pup. Hopefully the meds will kick in soon and he’ll be feeling better in no time. And you, too! I’ve been thinking about you two off and on all day, wondering how Atlas was feeling – I’m glad for the update.

  5. Would never have thought that dogs get tonsilitis. You learn something new everyda. Love the image..and your point-of-view.

  6. Poor guy…..all whacked out….coming back after being administered anesthesia is a very weird experience.

    I know I didn’t like it ONE SINGLE BIT!

    I hope he gets better soon.

  7. I hope he feels better. All I know is that I love that picture of the woods. You have the best photos every time…

    J

    http://asquarepegbreaksfree.blogspot.com/

  8. Hope the meds are kicking in…

  9. It’s amazing the illnesses that our animals share in common with us, isn’t it. Poor little sausage, and so stressful for you as well.

    A wonderful photograph, Elixabeth, such magnificent persepective giving the sense of height and dominance of these fine trees.

  10. Wonderful photo – I love the tall pines and the bit of mist/fog. The previous pup ones are fun too! Hope Atlas is feeling better.

  11. The kitties hope their cousin gets better soon. πŸ™‚

  12. Poor puppy, I hope he’s starting to feel better.

    Love the picture.

  13. jj: i think he is.

    amy: so does his two-legged person. πŸ™‚

    hmn: the pines are so gorgeous in the foggy mornings!

    ews: I know! Who would’ve thought!

    julie l: I think they are ..

    jack: thanks!

    ww: that’s true, it is an odd feeling. I’ve been sick both times I can remember – ugh.

    marcie: we really do! I did not know I would get to learn about it. πŸ˜‰

    toni: thanks for thinking of us. πŸ™‚

    MaryAnn: your comment inspired the next post. πŸ™‚

    laura: I always know what I want when I’m sick, LOL, I want to be in bed with chicken noodle soup and crackers and ginger ale. πŸ˜‰

    becca: I think so!

Leave a Reply

