running on empty

I miss my sleep .. but a sickly puppy feels better when he has long walks in the wee hours of the morning. This, I suppose, is where a back yard might be nice. Nice for me, that is – and what’s nice for me is not always the right thing to do. But here’s the thing .. I was supposed to make sure that he didn’t eat anything after 11 pm last night. Do you think grass counts? Oh, how I hope not.

16 Responses to “running on empty”

  1. I hear ya on the no sleep….I have a teething baby who gets me up every couple hours. I LOVE this shot and would have loved to have seen you taking it! Why is poor Atlas sickly?

  2. You are such a good mommy :o)

  3. Becca: I don’t know .. they’re running some x-rays today to try to find out. My theory is that he ingested stuffing from a toy and it’s stuck in his throat or stomach somewhere. I thought this at the beginning of the month too .. so we’ll see if my intuition is right. πŸ™‚

  4. Oh, how I hope everything is ok with him! Please keep us posted.

    Also, how did you get this perspective? Lovely! It looks like you are right under him.

  5. ww: thanks πŸ™‚

    gabrielle: he’s on a huge tree that fell down. I stood on the side of it and held the camera below the log, facing up .. and snapped away as he ran towards me. πŸ™‚ It was one of those things where I needed takes, and dogs don’t do takes, LOL.

  6. I hope pup feels better soon!

  7. get well Atlas…HAHA dogs do not do “takes” for sure!

  8. I hope that Atlas starts feeling better… it’s no fun to be sick.

  9. Looks almost prehistoric…like some sort of big footed dinosaur stomping on the world. Love your point-of-view!!!

  10. Cool shot of the pup. How is Atlas? Is he okay?

  11. Well, that’s one of the most interesting perspectives in a dog photo ever. πŸ™‚
    Now, I’m worried about Atlas and wonder if he did eat a toy or part of one. Our former sheepdog was notorious for that and he was notoriously sick as a result.
    We have a big back yard that the dogs use all day long, but I can’t just let them out at night because the terrain belonging to raccoons and skunks in the dark. So I have to take them out front on a leash in the evenings. It can be a hassle but it’s my job!
    We’re sending good vibes to Atlas…..and to you for a decent night’s sleep.

  12. My first thought when I saw this shot is …. Are you ok?
    It looks like one loveable pup could trample you

    Great perspective.

  13. Hey, hope you’re both feeling better. πŸ™‚ Love this shot… for some reason it makes me think about middle earth in Lord of the Rings.

  14. How’s Atlas today? Did the Xrays show anything?

  15. He has tonsillitis, hopefully not secondary to something else. I need to do a post about my evening .. it was rather comical. πŸ™‚

  16. elk: I guess Sam doesn’t either, LOL

    marcie: I can see that now, LOL. If dinosaurs were soft and furry like Atlas, I might not be afraid of them. πŸ™‚

    lydia: I still think he ate some stuffing, but I guess that wasn’t the cause of it. Why must dogs de-stuff everything?! You would not want your dogs to come running in after an encounter with a skunk!!!

Leave a Reply

