sole mates

I don’t know about you, but I believe in soul mates.Β I believe that a soul mate is someone or something who comes into your life for a specific purpose. There is a reason they are in your life, whether you realize it or not.

I also believe that Atlas is one of my soul mates. I believe that he came into my life to teach me the meaning of unconditional love and acceptance, how to be true to myself, and to help me find my way.

If you’ve met me in real life, or have followed this blog for a while, you know that I am particularly fond of my giant little puppy. Perhaps you will now understand why. Aside from the fact that he is cute and sweet and funny and always up for anything, it would be hard not to love someone who was helping you learn such valuable lessons.

17 Responses to “sole mates”

  1. your so right Elizabeth ~ how can you not feel that way with those eyes?!
    off to hug SAM

  2. He is a cutie… we went to a concert tonight and the woman who opened had a song all about her love for her puppy – it was so you! Kath and I were cracking up. I’ll have to find it for you..

  3. Of course he’s your soulmate! I love that you were able to learn so much from a puppy! πŸ™‚

  4. Happy! He’s sweet face always warms my heart.

  5. He’s so adorable, looking up at you with love in those puppy dog eyes. As Laura said, of course he’s your soul mate!

  6. TOO FUNNY! This reminds me of a William Wegman photo..and how he manages to create humor with his dog pix. Excellent!

  7. he makes a superb guide-dog elizabeth πŸ™‚

  8. He’s so cute! He looks like a bobble head doll.

  9. so….you believe in more than one soul-mate for someone? because I like that idea. I’ve always thought of it in terms of that “certain someone” you marry, but it’d be great to apply to friends, too. expound more on your thoughts of soul-mates, the ones that speak english, please

  10. ann: what, you think Atlas doesn’t speak English? πŸ˜‰ I think they’re someone who has connected with you for a purpose. Maybe you are both learning the same lesson. Maybe they are mirroring something in you that is good or bad that you need to learn or work through. Maybe there is something that you need to accomplish together. But they are not always good (enjoyable) relationships. Happily, I am not the only one who uses this definition .. I’ve seen sites that explain it similarly. πŸ™‚ I can think of an good example for you, but I am reluctant to post it because it wasn’t particularly good, and I’d like to protect the innocent person who may not realize their purpose. πŸ˜‰

  11. Lib- this picture is perfect!

  12. Now those are some “puppy eyes”! How can a person not love him? I like the angle of the picture, interesting.

  13. Hey Lib, I found a video of that song…

  14. I call soul mates “angels on earth.” And I agree that they’re not always positive relationships, but they do contain some amount of attraction, that’s why they’re “mates” at all, right? I have had countless people affect my life in one way or another…it’s quite the premise of my blog, really. And I have one true angel on earth who has been there for me every step of the way, and whom I believe will be there for me for eternity. It’s very comforting.

  15. I think he is also very lucky to have you.

  16. “Noses in this picture are closer than they appear”

  17. julie: thanks!

    julie m: well, I can’t help but love him anyway. πŸ™‚

    amy: it was PERFECT

    leanne: I love your description. And your blog premise.

    liss: we are both lucky

    bridget: it was pretty close. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

