profound simplicity

I just finished a book called The Untethered Soul by Michael A Singer. I saw an ad for it in a recent Yoga Journal magazine and loved the simple beauty of the cover so, when the library didn’t have it, I bought it. It is essentially an exploration of your “self”, or your inner consciousness, and a guide on how to change your relationship with your thoughts and emotions so that you can be free.

I wish I had the words to tell you how I feel about this book. It is simple and beautifully written and fascinating and challenging and profound and I cannot praise it enough.Β Really, I cannot believe my luck in finding it. It is one of those books that will be read over and over and over.

17 Responses to “profound simplicity”

  1. p.s. No need for envy, my snowy weather friends; this photo was not taken today. We have no dandelions currently. I haven’t uploaded photos in a few days so went looking through my albums for something simple.

  2. Oh I thought the snow had stopped. This is a fitting photo for the post.
    PS: I will share my 2009 goals very soon

  3. i will look for the book, enjoy the stroll thru your shots this one will happen soon for real….

  4. Well, you convinced ME. I’ll be seeking that book out!

  5. I think I should try to find that book, as well.

  6. I’m blowing at the screen… will my wish come true?

  7. LOL. I was just thinking the same thing as MaryAnn- I wasn’t actually blowing at the screen, but I felt like I wanted to! πŸ˜€

  8. liss: it has! I was just noting that in case those viewers in snowy climes looked at it and thought – why don’t we have dandelions too! πŸ™‚

    MaryAnn: yes!

  9. elk/leanne/toni: I hope you enjoy it!

    laura: I actually did. πŸ˜‰

  10. That does sound like an interesting read.

    I love dandelions! Thanks for posting a summery picture (brrr…). I just showed my son last summer how you can smear dandelions and make your arm all yellow, that they can be braided and the seeds can be blown. How versatile! πŸ™‚

    “Wildflowers are the weeds we’ve learned to love”- a sign in my kitchen.

  11. Perfect title for a very beautiful image. Sometimes the simple things in life are the most beautiful, we just need to open our eyes to them

  12. Have heard of that book..but have never known anyone to ‘review’ it. Thanks for that. Will have to take a look. Love the simplicity of this warm summer image.

  13. The title alone sounds intriguing. Sp?

  14. You found the book because you intended to, because at a subconscious level the yearning to awaken to yourself is going stronger. Every single event unfolds with perfection in life, leaving no scope for luck, accidents or coincidences. Because is life is a very powerful tool / process that we are always using. But many of us continue to use it without being fully aware of how it works, and then we react to its “undesirable” consequences that we caused.

    I can completely understand how words fall short for most such experiences. Life in the spiritual level is full of such profundities that words are absurdly limited, and that is also the reason they are almost always misinterpreted whenever used by spiritual masters.

    That is a beautiful photograph. The dandelion is on the verge of flying for its freedom to, even as we seek to free ourselves with our thoughts which have taken control over our lives, leaving us as a species which is perpetually lost in thought!

  15. Thank you for sharing, Elizabeth. The photo is lovely. The book sounds wonderful.

  16. I immediately put it on my wishlist! I just got a new one in the mail, but I will read it soon. I totally trust your judgment!

  17. julie: I didn’t know about the braiding! I’ll have to try it. And I just love that quote.

    ews: thanks – I agree

    marcie: I bought it solely for the cover and the fact that a recommendation listed in the ad said something like, “Read it carefully and you will get more than a glimpse of eternity.” Now you know how to lure me in if you ever write a book. πŸ™‚

    mindijo: yup, you spelled it right

    sumedh: that is a good point. I definitely had put that intention out into the universe .. though I suppose at the time I didn’t know exactly what it would mean or entail.

    hmn: it really was

    ww: yay! I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

