i am

i have given myself
permission
to be me
no apology
no pretense
it feels
oddly liberating
wildly exhilarating
i am .. enough
16 Responses to “i am”

  1. “I am enough…” That is inspiring! I have made it one of my goals this year to be myself more- something that I do all the time around my closest friends and family yet have a harder time with around others. I worry too much.

    By the way, I’ve checked out your blog and photos for awhile now and you are amazingly talented behind the lens!

    -Julie

  2. Of course you are, E!! To think otherwise is comepletely wrong. Now I need to tell that to myself. 🙂

  3. Okay, I do know how to spell “completely”. 🙄

  4. julie: thank you. 🙂 Good luck on your goal! Strangely, I only worry(ied) about family .. which seems all wrong somehow.

    toni: yes, you are. And I do know that. I thought it would be a good reminder for others, given that it’s the beginning of a new year.

  5. Something is in the air this new year- I have heard so many people who want to be more accepting and confident of themselves. Me? Maybe I’ll work on that in 2010, or if I get a grip, maybe I’ll work on it mid 2009. 😀

  6. I think this is something that is difficult when you have found “you” are better away from the home culture. The thing is, family will take you, show you love, in their own family way! I only get part-time permission from myself, so far. Way to inspire!!!!!!

  7. it comes with age too i have found…I am not nearly as concerned about it now that I am ….old tee hee! and as we both know our pups will love us no matter what!!! he is so cute

  8. I like the picture and the sentiment.

  9. I love this. At first I thought, “Well. She’s in a better place than I am.” Then I thought about it much of this afternoon and I decided that’s not true. I think that I gave myself permission to be myself very slowly over time, and never really made an exclamation about it. Which I should have done, but sometimes slow processes are so slow, that you never really know when the end of one journey is over. And I absolutely think that I am myself most days. I don’t have to fake it very often, so I can appreciate the “liberating” part. And SEE?! This is the “Liberator” I was talking about, not the bag of cookies. Full circle moment for me, thank you for making my point on that. 🙂

  10. Oh, and very cool photo, I love it. (And your left eye is stunning!)

  11. laura: LOL, I think you should join me. 🙂

    jen: coincidentally, I came to that realization (first sentence) earlier this year. Yes, love, absolutely. I was looking for something else – but I do realize that the fact that I needed it is my problem.

    elk: if we only knew then, hey?!

    amy: 🙂

    leanne: but I like cookies! 😉 Slow and steady is the way to do it. You are a great inspiration!

    maryann: 🙂

  12. Good for you. This is the way it should be never appologise for being yourself.

    I imagine Atlas would thinks that you are more than enough.

  13. hi lizabeth! hi big guy! i support you in remembering this every day. it is a good and deserved mantra.

    i got my ‘invention’ up and working so we can now go down the gorge on a really, really cold and windy day and i will be able to keep my poor little fingers warm for the camera. if you want me to make you one too i will! when can we go?

  14. liss: yes, he would

    ww: 🙂

    robin: yay! maybe early Feb?!

Leave a Reply

