white christmas in my home town

Snow, snow, and more snow. That’s one of the things I remember most about growing up in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It’s also one of the reasons I moved out west after college. It was my senior winter and I was very cold, so I decided that I wanted to move to California. I imagined California to be a land of sun, desert, and palm trees. In other words, the complete opposite of snow, snow, and more snow.

And so I did – move to California, that is. But I grew up in that green house, and I used to sun tan on that porch. Between the green and grey houses is a road that isn’t plowed in the winter. Would you believe that by the end of the winter, the snow banks on the road were usually higher than our heads?!

Ahhh .. the memories. I haven’t been back in the winter for many years now, which is why I am reminiscing. What is it about visits back “home” that take us back ..

15 Responses to “white christmas in my home town”

  1. I can’t fathom that much snow! Crazy-ness!!! I was hoping for snow at Christmas, especially since I had house guests from FL, but it was a no go…….

  2. That’s a lot of snow. I think trips back home and meant to “take us back”. We (B&B and I) woke up to more snow this morning. 😀 This was a wet, heavy snow, unlike the light powdery snow that we had earlier, but it is already starting to melt off.

  3. Do you know that in my head when I think of you, I always say “Liberator.” So if IRL I bump into you and refer to you as that, please don’t think I’m crazy. 🙂

    I love that photo. The “For Sale” sign got me wondering what’s going on with their real estate market. Not too hot, I’m sure.

  4. California does sound nice to me. I’m at that ‘dreaming’ stage…

    I do love to be with Davin’s family- and it was great spending Christmas with them, but I would much rather visit 6 times during than summer and not at all in the winter. Once we’re there it’s fine, but 9 times out of 10 we end up with a miserable drive. It’s just not worth it- thus, we will be spending very few Christmas’s up there. 😦

    Leanne, the market is worse than here. At least in Davin’s old home town.

  5. WW: I would have happily sent you some of Oregon’s snow!

    toni: same here .. though it was only a light dusting. Are B&B enjoying it?

    leanne: sounds like a superhero! Now I feel the need to liberate some cookies from their packaging. 😉

    laura: yeah .. I pretty much never visit in the winter, mostly because of the cat. It’s hard to sleep outside in a tent when there is many feet of snow on the ground, LOL. Also, I prefer to enjoy the U.P. in every other season. 🙂

  6. sharyn: I’m glad. I wonder if I should’ve mentioned that it’s a diptych. 🙂

  7. I, too, have many good memories of being in that house. : ) It was fun to see this photo. Speaking of Calumet’s famous snow volume, I still remember walking up the driveway at Wendy’s Grandparents’ house, and the snow was about 10 ft high on both sides from being blown off the driveway. It was eerily impressive.

  8. I spent the last 3 weeks of December at our mountain cabin in Big Bear, CA. We got 2 back-to-back storms bringing the most snow I’ve seen in the 20 years I’ve been going there. It was wonderful…it was fun…it was a nightmare getting my car dug out. ;o)
    There are a number of photos on my personal blog: http://sleecphotos.blogspot.com/

    Suzanne
    Huntington Beach, CA

  9. Over here in England snow is pretty much a memory of my childhood. Our seasons have changed and we usually get a light dusting in about Feb-April, but nohting on the scale that Canada and the USA have had.

    A beautiful photograph which makes me miss the snow of my countryside birthplace in the Midlands where it was thick and guaranteed.

  10. That is alot of snow and as pretty as it looks it must get annoying at times. Driving in this sort of weather would scare me.

  11. I think I’d miss winter. I love the change in seasons..and I love snow. Wonderful image of real winter!!!

  12. I am the opposite to a degree grew up back in NZ in a town that hardle ever got snow and if we did flakes, over this season I an remembering the days when we would go to the beach, relax and swin the day after christmas not staying inside because its to cold out

    Wonderful sot of the snow, that I ciuld easily miss for ever and a day 🙂

  13. tara: 10 FEET !!! wow. I have lots of fond memories of you being that house too. 🙂

    suzanne: I’m going to check out your photos directly! Yeah .. it’s the mundane things like getting cars out that make snowstorms less fun. 🙂

    EWS: I remember my Christmas in England – we had short sleeve shirts on on Christmas Day! Boxing Day was chilly though – we went to watch everyone dip into the North Sea and no way would I have joined in.

    liss: it didn’t scare me when I was young, though it does now.

    marcie: I like it, but don’t love it. There are lots of great things about it – and it certainly covers everything with a beautiful blanket – but some of the parts about living it are less appealing to me now. Also, Atlas doesn’t like it. 🙂

    jj: I’m with you on the “miss for ever and a day” 🙂

  14. I loved this post. The photo too. My brother in Duluth (the one who shares the Finn dad with me) sent some shots of his street at New Years. Looks like about the same amount of snow as on your hometown street. It was fun to have snow here before Christmas and reminded me of my own childhood winters in winter. Abby and Bonbon both loved it (Abby absolutely hates the rain…she was a rescue from another state so grew up in a different climate).

    Check out this video of a dog who loves the snow (it’s best if you keep the ridiculous soundtrack muted):

Leave a Reply

