michigan, a winter wonderland

On Christmas day, I woke up to sunshine. It was so glorious. I wandered around the neighborhood during the afternoon with my camera to capture the snowy beauty. When I got home, however, I was surprised to discover that my photos were in black and white. [I changed the mode and forgot to change it back.] Another happy accident, it seems.

This is the house next door to my parents’ house. It’s for sale. Clearly they were not planning on showing the house any time in the immediate future.Β The two houses are across the street from a swamp, which makes for large snow drifts when snow and wind are combined. That is why you see the drift against the garage door.

21 Responses to “michigan, a winter wonderland”

  1. It’s perfect in b&w. Definitely a happy accident. I was out shooting the other day, thinking I WAS shooting in b&w and I wasn’t. Oh well, it is much, much easier to convert color to b&w! πŸ™‚

  2. What a beautiful picture! (It reminds me of that “marshmallow world” carol) I love the way snow looks, when the sunlight bounces off of it.

  3. A definite ‘happy accident’. Even more lovely in b&w. All the best for the new year!!!

  4. It looks great in black and white! However, the sun made for everything to look crisp and clean in color on Christmas day!

  5. I agree perfect in black and white. The snow makes the hosue look very pretty but I guess not being able to get into your garage doesn’t make for a good selling point.

  6. Thanks for the great pics, sorry that we missed you!

  7. it kind of does remind me of that marshmallow fluff stuff that you buy in a jar…just not as sticky πŸ™‚

  8. oh what a happy surprise…drifts of new year wishes to you !!

  9. Yes, superb in mono. Detailed and beautiful

  10. This is amazingly gorgeous, surreal and beautiful!

  11. *this* is the cc to me! love it, especially from 350 miles away! πŸ™‚

  12. I think I remember picking wild strawberries in or around that swamp when we were little! Do I?

  13. toni: it is, which is exactly why I wanted to shoot in color!

    amy i: I don’t think I’ve ever heard that song, but I like the sound of a marshmallow world. It sounds soft and bouncy. πŸ™‚

    marcie: thank you! I can’t wait to see your 2009 photos!

    laura: I know .. fortunately, I have shots in color too, I’m just not sure they were taken the same day.

    liss: so true

    jen h: so am I. 😦

    julie: I tried it, and can assure you that it did not taste like that stuff. πŸ˜‰

  14. elk: same to you!

    ews/sumedh: thanks so much!

    jen: I never mind seeing banks of snow in photos either! πŸ™‚

    holly: I’m not sure .. we picked them in the woods around the house, but I am not sure if berries grew in the swamp. I’ll ask Amy ..

    OFG: I hope you have a happy new year too! I hope you’re getting in some relaxation time during your break – since I know you’re working a ton. πŸ™‚

  15. Okay, it’s really corny, but here’s my favorite version of it..

  16. amy i: that was corny, corny but cute. I think the lyrics will come in handy! πŸ™‚

  17. If you think that’s bad, check out the videos on Youtube! πŸ™‚

  18. oh that’s really cool. i’ve never been in snow that deep!

  19. Happy New Year Elizabeth πŸ™‚

    Looking at the photo I had at first thought..”that looks like a toy model” cuz I have never seen a scene like this…great B/W but would be curious to see it in colour too πŸ™‚

  20. amy: I’d better not, LOL

    maya: heh .. I was trying to take a photo of red berries against the snow and fell in to my knees.

    howard: I wish we could both see it in color, LOL. Oh well .. I should’ve paid more attention to the images as I was taking them. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

