oh, the weather outside is – delightful

There’s a saying that runners have: “There is no bad weather, only bad clothing.” I am finally convinced.

I have resisted buying a warm winter coat for many years. I grew up in cold, snowy, Michigan winters so felt silly buying a warm coat for the mild (in comparison) winters in California and Oregon. Never mind that after the first year out west, I acclimated and was generally always freezing.

Last night, I gave in. I took my dividend check over to REI and bought a lovely, purple-y, thick down jacket. I also pulled my Uggs out from the closet. Oh, the difference it makes. I took Atlas out for a lunchtime ramble and felt completely enveloped in warmth. Now I am truly enjoying our cold and snowy weather.

14 Responses to “oh, the weather outside is – delightful”

  1. I do agree… I always love the snow when I’m going to play in it… it’s when I’m running to the bus stop half dressed that I’m grumbling about it..
    Your cup is very cute… and what’s inside of it looks yummy.

  2. I have a purple down jacket – grape… cozy. I have my down sleeping bag out as my couch throw. I can sleep on the floor with it – no problem. It’s been chilly & wet here. We stayed inside the entire day. I was so happy to go to the library & grocery store tonight.

  3. SWEEET!

    Imagine how many other things you can now do.

    Take care,

    J

  4. now that’s a happy photo!

    it was 71 degrees here today.

    crazy.

  5. I started laughing as soon as I saw your title – good job, E!! I’ve been running around in this weather in a sweater, but it just got too cold. I finally went through my closet and dug out a warm coat to wear. I hate coats – they are so bulky!! But, they are warm… 🙄

  6. nothing like a puffy coat…and purple no less! I love this photo and this blog…xo t

  7. I love the feeling of being toasty and warm. Your jacket does sounds delightful.
    You forgot the marshmellows to go with you hot chocolate or did you eat them?

  8. I wanna be wherever maya is. 71 degrees sounds like heaven to me. 😀

  9. Your postiive energy astounds me. Thanks for adding it to my life daily.

  10. Somedays winter is okay, other days I wouldn’t mind waiting it out, preferably from inside that cup of hot cocoa, or maybe a tropical island in the Pacific.. (Every place has its downside, though- I’ve been thru one hurricane season, and that’s not an experience I’d like to repeat.)

  11. amy i: how true. So far, the good outweighs the bad here. 🙂

    leanne: awwww, thanks.

    laura: LOL, I think you need to head south then. 🙂

    liss: I am not a marshmallow lover. But don’t worry – the white swirl is ice cream. 🙂

    mrs. french: yes, every time I look at my jacket, it makes me happy. Gotta love the power of color!

    toni: I didn’t want to copy you completely, LOL.

    maya: that is crazy!

    jack: I wonder if you mean outdoor stuff. I could do that without the jacket, it’s just walking that I can’t get warm enough to do. 🙂

    MaryAnn: I bet out jackets are very similar. Mine is really a grape color too.

    julie: yeah, when I have to take Atlas outside in the wee hours of the morning, I am not so fond of the weather then. 😉

  12. That cocoa looks deeelicious and I could just do with it today. It’s very cold in southern England too and we’ve all come down with fluey stuff. But the dogs still have to go out so I shall dress up very warm with lots of secret undergarments 😉

  13. i’m so glad you bought yourself a jacket. i’m cold natured so i always have on a small jacket or sweater. one of my favorite words is “toasty”. hehe your drink looks yummy. cheers to staying warm and getting out doors more.

    as the saying goes here in Texas, if you don’t like the weather just wait a few minutes. it was 22 degrees here on Wednesday, and the high yesterday was in the upper 70’s. crazy, huh?

    hope you’re having a merry Christmas week.
    Sandra

  14. hilary: stay warm! I might need to find my secret undergarments if the cold holds up. 🙂 I hope you’re all feeling MUCH better soon.

    sandra: wow, that is crazy! Both the 70s and the 50 degree change! I am having a good week – I hope you are too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

