room with a view

Even a parking lot looks lovely with a carpet of snow. This may become the view from my “office” for the next few days as the weather reports are promising that an even bigger storm is on its way. I do not like to drive when it’s icy and stormy so I am prepared. My laptop is home and not at the office. The freezer is full of food for Atlas. The cupboards are full of pasta and vegetables and mandarins and hot cocoa as well as ingredients for baking. I have DVDs and books from the library. Best of all, the few stores where I plan to finish my Christmas shopping are within walking distance. Yes, life is very good.

10 Responses to “room with a view”

  1. This is a wonderful observation through the blind, and works superbly. It feels cold just looking out. You are so right, snow brightens up almost any scene and makes it appealing, like a fresh lick of paint to cheer the land up.

    You sound prepared, over here, the first signof snow flakes and the railway services grind to a halt, roads close and public transport runs home screaming! Ha ha

    An excellent image, Elizabeth

  2. How do you do it? You take the simplest photos and they look like art. They are art. Beautiful.

  3. such a creative perspective you offer! an elizabeth perspective 🙂 i’m afraid i am going to wish i had made it to the store today instead of tomorrow… i is going to be low on chips and dip and my library book is sitting on hold yet for me to pick up….
    p.s. i forgot to add the link to your blog on my post about our tuba day! i remedied that this evening. i just got so darn excited writing the post i left out one of the more important points… that everyone should come visit elizabeth and atlas XOX

  4. I love the shot through the blinds! The title is perfect, too. I went to the store on Monday to stock up a little bit and it seemed like everybody and their dog was there – it was so crowded! The best part was the hot chocolate was on sale!! 🙂

  5. This photo makes me feel like you are waiting for someone to turn up. Maybe it’s the extra snow you are waiting for.

    My weather is going to be mid 20’s all next week. Hopefully January will get some day in the 30’s when it gets to 40 you’ll here me complaining as we are on very tight water restrictions. This photo makes me feel like you are waiting for someone to turn up. Maybe it’s the extra snow you are waiting for.

    My weather is going to be mid 20’s all next week.hopefully January will get some day in the 30’s. When it gets to 40 you’ll here me complaining as we are on very tight water restrictions.

  6. was wondering how you came up with a dog sniffing a rear end for a christmas card photo? 😉

  7. ann: LOL, that was *not* a Christmas card. 🙂

    liss: I hope your warm weather turns up soon.

    toni: I ran into Safeway to see if they had a brand of cookies I needed and the lines were incredible! It was a good thing they didn’t have the cookies.

    robin: I hope you were able to run to the store this morning anyway! It was still pretty clear then.

    kym: thank you

    EWS: LOL, I am prepared, I’m not sure the “city” is.

  8. with all of that going for you at home I would be hoping for another snowstorm.. 🙂

  9. sounds like you have every thing planned ~the “thru the blinds view” is a nice image
    stay warm!

  10. julie: and we got one! 🙂

    elk: thanks – I am trying to. Feel free to send up some of your warm weather if the cold stays too long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

