white as snow

I woke up this morning to see my world covered with a thin blanket of snow. Everything was white and fresh and clean. As I watched the pup run wild among the trees – hunting for squirrel tracks on the newly fallen snow – I was filled with happiness. It really is the little moments in life that make it all worthwhile.

19 Responses to “white as snow”

  1. it was almost 80 and I was gardening barefooted among the leaves….quite the contrast!

  2. I am envious of your thin blanket of snow.. the UP is bracing for a giant winter storm.. (btw, anytime after the holidays sounds good, for learning Italian.)

  3. huh. you guys get snow?

  4. ann: almost never. πŸ™‚ And this is the first time it was actually dry snow, at least that I remember, rather than thick wet flakes that melt on contact. πŸ™‚

  5. Isn’t it though!

  6. We had some nasty, nasty, cold, very cold weather this weekend. Snow on Saturday that blew into corners with the winds. The snow was all dirty and yucky. You have some very pretty snow.

  7. Davin’s already shoveled the driveway twice today. He’s heading to the U.P. tomorrow night so maybe I’ll get a turn with the yooper scooper! (He’s a hog). Now that I think about it, that’s the only thing I really like about snow- shoveling it. And it’s nice to have on Christmas Eve too, of course.

  8. toni: I’m sure it’ll slowly turn to mud, but it was oh-so-pretty today. πŸ™‚

    laura: feel free to come out here and shovel off my car, LOL.

    becca: πŸ™‚

    amy i: yup, definitely after the holidays. RS is not cheap, so I must wait ’til the new year. πŸ™‚

    elk: oh, wow – quite the contrast.

  9. Isn’t it gorgeous! Our dogs loved two walks today, and we both took some shots around the yard. All schools from Portland down through Mill City are closed tomorrow, so our neighborhood will be full of happy kids. But my husband will probably have to commute into Salem to work. Our next door neighbor is the chef for Willamette University and he left this afternoon to prepare the annual “midnight breakfast” for all the students who are studying for exams. It ends at Midnight and then he gets to hit the road to try his luck in getting home……

  10. Love the simpliicty of the image.
    Nice!!!

  11. How lovely. I feel like it could snow here it’s been so cold over the weekend. I am wanting my summer to arrive.

  12. How pretty… I do love a light little blanket of snowfall. But no more. And relatively warm temps along with the snow.

  13. pretty capture of this fresh snow! I can almost see the little crystals

  14. Where are the snow cone flavors? Watermelon’s my favorite.

    It’s chilly here too… not quite that chilly, but anything under 60 is freezing to us.

  15. You might look at this and think “snow!” while I look at this and think “green grass!” I’m glad that you enjoyed the snow. πŸ™‚ We got about a foot of snow this weekend followed by some very cold weather. -12 today and predictions of -30 tonight with a wind to go along with it. I do love winter and snow but could do without the bitter cold! Thanks for sharing the bit of green…

  16. HI,
    Le froid et la neige sont arrivΓ©es..La nature recouverte d’un beau manteau blanc ..
    et oui c’est l’hiver @++ Francis

  17. and when I went out and braved the snow, unlike you….. i couldn’t get out the door so i had to give it a running shove to move aside the mountain of snow in front of it, and then tromp through the snow and shovel off the truck:)….so how was your blizzard???????

  18. and did i just read a comment that schools were closed on monday there????????boyoboy………we had -20 degrees with the windchill yesterday, and whiteouts w/ the blowing snow, and dad didn’t even think we would have a snow day, but we did…..i see how that compares to yours:)

  19. helen: LOL, you are clearly much tougher than I. Apparently I have lost my sisu. πŸ™‚

    francis: very true!

    hmn: oh wow, a foot! You will have to post photos so we can appreciate it!

    MaryAnn: mmmmmm .. that would be good. I could carry flavoring on walks and snack the whole way!

    EWO: thanks!

    amy: yes, a blanket of snow, and warmer temps. perfect.

    liss: I cannot believe your summer isn’t there yet!

    marcie: thanks!

    lydia: I was surprised there didn’t seem to be more kids outside enjoying the day off. The park was strangely quiet – not like last year’s days off. Strange.

Leave a Reply

