the best gift

I was thinking about gifts today, and it occurred to me that the best gift I gave myself this year was my reiki classes. They really were the type of gifts that keep on giving.

I know I’ve mentioned reiki a few times but some of you might not know what it is. It’s a Japanese method for stress relief and relaxation that also promotes energetic healing. While the energy goes to wherever it is needed (at all levels), it is very useful for the physical self. I’ve used it to relax, to clear my sinuses (I do this nightly – so I can breathe clearly while I sleep), to relieve a headache and cramps, to stop a horrible cold, to ease Atlas’ tummy when he’s wasn’t feeling well, and to give the battery on my car’s theft protection device a little jolt. It is extremely useful.

What is the best gift that you’ve given yourself this year?

12 Responses to “the best gift”

  1. Wow..all red here πŸ™‚ Kinda getting me in to mood for Chinese New Year coming round pretty soon after Christmas.

    I think I spoiled my self this year with the best gift I have gotten my self this year is my very first DSLR camera…Been going nuts about it and now see things in finer details…looking forward many more gifts like that in the next year πŸ˜›

  2. The best gift I have given myself this year is time and forgiveness. It’s been kind of hard this year, so I have allowed myself to not get into the craze of Christmas. Normally I would beat myself up for that, but this year I forgive myself. Davin and I are, in a sense, not celebrating. No gifts, no decorating, no muss, no fuss. It eases the stress. I pray for a more joyous Christmas next year. πŸ™‚

  3. my friend is a reiki person as well…..
    i guess the camera purchase this summer…it is nothing fancy but it opened my world so much I still cannot believe it

  4. howard: a DSLR sounds like the perfect gift to me too. πŸ™‚

    laura: time and forgiveness sound like just what you need.

    elk: that’s wonderful! It is so fun to see the world from behind the camera lens, isn’t it.

  5. My best present to myself this year was defending my thesis in April… and getting ready to graduate in May.
    I love the cutely wrapped presents. πŸ˜‰

  6. amy: yes, they are nicely wrapped, aren’t they. The giver is clearly very artistic. πŸ˜‰

  7. My best gift to myself this year was my camera. It truly opened my yes to the beauty around me. Next up is a Lensbabyso I can more fun with my camera. πŸ™‚

  8. I bought myself a monitor calibrator to fix my colour issues across difference pc I use. This was to solve all my problems but ended up creating some extra ones as vista did some funny this when I installed the software.

    PS: love the composition of this shot

  9. Um, that should be “eyes”, the camera opened my eyes to the beauty around me. (I’m shaking my head.)
    .
    Congrats, Elizabeth, you won the calendar in the contest that I held. Send me your address and I’ll mail it out right away.

  10. Although I love my new camera, I’d have to say the best gift I gave myself this year was getting involved in a Vancouver photography group where I met a bunch of new friends and did a great photo walk through Chinatown with them. I look forward to the walks we will take in the future. πŸ™‚

  11. toni: did you enter the Lensbaby giveaway on SS?

    liss: I’ve never heard of a monitor calibrator. Sounds interesting!

    christine: that is a great gift!

  12. Festive photo! I think the best thing I’ve done for myself this year is to push myself out of my comfort zone. A second best (which is perhaps should be first, not second) is to jump into a Qigong class and practice at least a little bit every day.

Leave a Reply

