’tis the season for cookies

I prefer to cook, not bake, so I usually don’t do a lot of baking during the holiday season. I make a batch or two of pumpkin raisin cookies, a batch or two of biscotti, and that’s about it. This year, for some reason, I am in the mood to bake, so have been digging through my favorite food blogs for ideas.

I found Smitten Kitchen’s recipe forΒ brown butter brown sugar shorties the other night. It only had a few ingredients – all of which I had on hand – and looked fabulous. They were. When you are drooling over the smell and sneaking bits of the butter and sugar while you are creaming them, you know the cookies will be good.

On a humorous note, I made two batches of a new recipe this past week – for brown butter biscuits. When I browned the butter for the cookies, I realized that I never actually managed to brown the butter for the biscuits. It was just melted, and I only imagined that it was browner. I guess I made two batches of butter biscuits instead. Tee-hee.

13 Responses to “’tis the season for cookies”

  1. I would rather bake than cook ~ your orange bowl is fun! Butter biscuits sound tasty

  2. They sound really good, E. The cookies, that is. πŸ˜‰ I’d rather bake than cook, probably because I don’t bake on a regular basis and you have to cook every day to live.

  3. I like doing both cooking and baking- but I don’t like cleaning up after either of them.. πŸ™‚

  4. Those cookies do sound good- I’ll have to try them. (maybe a little later in the week, though, so I can still fit in my jeans…) :o)

  5. Oh, I absolutely do NOT like cooking. I love baking- however, I only do so when I know I can give it all away! πŸ™‚

  6. Interesting that most people prefer baking! πŸ™‚

    elk: I love that bowl. Every year, I check the WS catalog to see if they introduced the color again. I broke one bowl (set of 3) a few years ago and would really like a replacement, but cannot bring myself to get a different color.

    toni: that’s why I’m glad I prefer cooking. πŸ™‚

    julie: I like cleaning up after other people’s baking and cooking, but not mine. Alas ..

    amy i: clearly I am not too worried about that, LOL.

    laura: that’s a problem .. I don’t like to give away anything from a first batch, which means I need to eat an entire batch and make a second before I can give anything away. Kind of a problem ..

    leanne: they are!

  7. My mouth is watering…Mmmm, I love cookies hot from the oven. The only thing better is the dough!

  8. The colors are fantastic! Love the simple composition. It really works!

  9. Cody has been bugging me to bake…..send me some of your baking mood, will ya!?

  10. kym: I like dough, but I’ve never loved it. Probably a good thing.

    marcie: thanks!

    ww: consider it sent! πŸ™‚

  11. So you’re saying I should make these, right? They certainly look delicious. Were they as tasty?

  12. christine: you should absolutely make them. your taste buds will thank you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

