a dose of laughter

It occurred to me that one of the qualities that serves me best is the ability to laugh at myself. I love a funny story, even if the joke is on me.

Why is this useful? Because clearly my level of general skepticism is quite low. Many of the things I find interesting, particularly with regard to health, result in a great deal of laughter when I try to explain them. Some of my old coworkers still remember me as the girl who licked a paper towel and sent it off monthly for analysis, took pills that said they were for the prostate, and drank nothing but water mixed with lime juice, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper for weeks; you can imagine the amusement there. Fortunately, I can recognize the element of ridiculousness in how things sound to someone else, laugh along, and then continue on my merry way.

This occurred to me because, for Christmas, I gave Atlas a session with an animal communicator. I thought that it would give him a chance to tell me what he likes and doesn’t like about his life – so I could make sure he’s happy. I told my neighbor about this and he joked to Atlas that I am certifiably crazy – that I seem nice, and even went to college and am clearly very intelligent, but that I am still crazy. Heh. I am glad that I can see the humor and laugh along – and then go back to being happy to finally hear what Atlas has to say.

15 Responses to “a dose of laughter”

  1. Did aAtlas agree that you are crazy but say to your neighbour that he loves you anyway šŸ™‚

    It nice to be able to see the lighter side of thing.

  2. I must say, I do tell many people about the prostate pills. To many people in medicine, who are often “unimpressed” with alternative medicine, this is extremely amusing. I think it is. šŸ™‚ How IS your prostate doing these days?

  3. Sign of a confident woman. I adore you. (And I’m sure you don’t need a communicator to make sure Atlas is happy (you might be the most loving mom I know) but if it confirms that he’s a content pup, no harm in it!)

  4. i am intrigued by this statue….is she pleased with her image, or finding fault as so many of us do. is it representative of you, who looks in the mirror and is happy, even when people call you crazy?

  5. Dear old Libby (for that is what you are and forever will be, though I call you Eliz or Elizabeth) you have not changed….well you have in some ways I am sure but you are still the same wonderful person underneath. Can you believe I have not seen you now for just shy of 7 years? Is there some possible way you can get away over Christmas for a cup of coffee or whatever with the girls?

  6. amy: that is so unfair! I’ve had things work too! šŸ™‚ I think you need to give two examples. For success, I submit reiki and vitamin D3. šŸ˜‰ By the way, my prostate appears to have vanished; perhaps the pills did work, LOL

  7. liss: I know he thinks I’m silly anyway. šŸ™‚

    leanne: I do know he’s happy. I was looking for more specifics though – like does he really like dog parks (he doesn’t – I always wondered). šŸ™‚

    ann: I actually didn’t try to find a photo that matched! I was looking through some old photos and saw this one and thought it was worth sharing. She is looking down, so you could surmise that she is not completely happy, but her face looks calm and her hand is gentle so I am guessing that she is pleased.

    becca: has it really been 7 years now?! Yes, I am hoping to do so. I’ll have to send out an email before I leave. šŸ™‚

  8. Recently, at Thanksgiving, I was the butt of some nasty jokes because people found out that I no longer shave my legs. My Mom tried to take up for me and told my family that I’m all earthy and I care about the environment, haha. I don’t know if that’s why I don’t shave, but okay šŸ™‚

  9. i am so confused ;0
    I like the sculpture
    and I did laugh at
    your post!!

  10. I have a friend who is so like you!! He wanted to hook me up with a pet communicator before I gave Kitty to my son to see if she really minded having to live in the closet (because of Buddy). I laughed at him. His Golden died and after a few months he went to a medium and had a seance to make sure she was okay – she was. I actually sent him your link to Coming Out of the Mist last night so he could read about reiki and the healing meditation thing. I think he’s crazy, too. And I tell him so as I’m laughing at him.

  11. LOL, you are just like my sister Amy. She laughs at me all the time. I just tell her that her life would be so much duller if I weren’t here to amuse her. šŸ˜‰

    elk: why are you confused?! now I am confused. šŸ™‚

    ww: as I said in email, that is horrible. Really, who cares whether someone shaves or not, besides the person themself.

  12. I don’t know if I’ve ever met you in person, and I still think you’re nuts! As long as you’re happy, that’s all that matters! šŸ˜€

  13. Hee-hee. Nuts are excellent. Everyone should have more nuts in their lives. šŸ˜‰

  14. i think you are entirely wonderful. everything little thing about you is amazing. šŸ™‚

  15. cyndi: you are much too sweet. and I think the same about you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

