and the leaves continue to fall

“I saw old Autumn in the misty morn

 Stand shadow less like silence, listening

 To silence.”

– Thomas Hood, Ode: Autumn, 1827

13 Responses to “and the leaves continue to fall”

  1. Oooh, I like this one… the photo and the quote! We are completely blanketed in about 6 or 7 inches of snow…

  2. its thinner on top. just like me.
    shh.

  3. The combination of image and poem are perfect.

  4. Just give it one good shake…

  5. Lovely photo. I love the fog in the background…

  6. i love the misty fog as a backdrop. The tree looks bit sad to be giving up her final skirt of color. It is time for sleep little tree.

  7. Ha! I was just thinking what Jen was thinking…. nothing on the top but plenty on the bottom…lol.. too funny.

  8. looks like winter is setting in. Or the weather here at the moment even though we are meant to be entering summer

  9. I was thinking along the lines of MaryAnn. I would love to give it a shake, and watch the leaves fall around me. 🙂

  10. holly: 6-7 inches! wow!

    jen/julie: LOL

    MaryAnn/Laura: I couldn’t. I like the leaves to stay as long as possible. 🙂

    eyeswideopened: thanks for the encouragement 🙂

    liss: it is coming – slowly.

    toni/amy: thanks!

    robin: it does look rather sad, doesn’t it.

  11. I just found you … what magnificent photos…

  12. thanks, Diane. I checked out your blog and love it – you are such a talented artist!

Leave a Reply

