drips and drops

1. This was one of those fun “discussions” between Atlas and me. We were out for a walk when he stopped, nose up in the air like he smelled something good. I said, “There’s nothing here, Atlas; I promise.” He ignored me and sniffed around some more. I said, “Really, Atlas, there’s no kitty.” Then I saw the cat. [Note: it’s not like it was even hiding in the bushes – clearly I need a new nose. Or new eyes.]

2. Speaking of things that are hidden, I forgot to tell you another funny story from yesterday. The carpet guy started the fan up after he finished extracting the water. All of a sudden, a giant string of cobwebs started floating across the room towards him! I had to grab it before it floated right into him. I told him it was apparent that dusting was not one of my strengths. When he left, I noticed cobwebs in his hair.

3. I bet you thought my leak saga was over. Heh. I went to fix the couch cushions around noon and noticed a large wet spot on the arm of the couch. I looked up. You guessed it – the water spots on the ceiling were now leaking! I called maintenance, set out some bowls, and settled in to watch the fun for a bit.

4. Atlas kept drinking the water from the buckets. I suppose it was just like a water fountain only much slower.

5. Around dinner time, I decided that the sensible thing to do might be to put some holes in the ceiling to see if the water would come out in one fell swoop. First, I called my dad to validate my good idea. Then, I stood on a ladder and poked holes in the water bubbles with a curved plant hook (my cordless drill needed to be recharged and I couldn’t find any nails).

6.ย There was a lot of water up there. And now there are a lot of holes in my ceiling.

7. Yes, I still find all of this very funny. Can you blame me?

9 Responses to “drips and drops”

  1. Firstly, a magnificently beautiful feline friend , and such a wonderful name. A superb photograph and accompanying words which had me chuckling, what more can I ask on a Saturday morning.

    Have a great weekend

  2. The nose knows, E. Never doubt the nose. I was laughing throughout your whole story. Excellent post.

  3. The photo of the cat is beautiful…love the framing.

    Seriously….I am following your flooding story like I am following a really good series on TV. I am imagining your living room to be a wet swiss cheese with all the holes and water leaking. And the cobwebs! What can I say… ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  4. toni: I should know that by now; and yet, I continue to doubt it. No wonder the owner of the nose ignores me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    floog: I’m glad you enjoyed it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    howard: thankfully, it’s not quite swiss cheese material. And happily, the dripping appears to have stopped! Clearly, my plan was the right approach after all. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. LOL! Way too funny. I am picturing the maintenance man walking down the street and people thinking “Man, that guy needs to learn how to groom himself!” You almost want me to have my ceiling dripping- I would love to drill holes in it- it sounds like fun…oh crap, now Davin is going to wake up to a swiss cheese ceiling! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. I’d totally be poking the ceiling too! We had a moldy smell in our bedroom… away from the wall that’s next to the bathroom… I drilled holes like crazy & then took the drywall out. Our dryer’s vent on the other side got disconnected & all that hot moist air was lingering in the walls. It was a relief to see what was going on behind the wall.

    Hope things dry up soon!

  7. LOL on the cobwebs…I’ll bet your landlords are relieved they have you there and not someone who’d be seriously annoyed by the inconvenience.

  8. You rent, not own, right? So much nicer if you have someone else to come take care of stuff like this for you! (Particularly water…water does more damage to homes in a faster amount of time than anything else!) That was a cute post about the kitty!

  9. laura: I know! I should’ve mentioned it, but I just couldn’t.

    MaryAnn: it’s a good thing you noticed! I don’t have much of a sense of smell, so I doubt I’d even notice.

    becca: possibly, though I am calling them enough than I may be becoming a pain. However, at least I’m a cheerful pain I guess. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    leanne: I do. It is nice, though sometimes I think I would actually be more proactive and care more, and since I am reasonably handy when the need arises ..

Leave a Reply

