when in doubt, turn to Les Mis

“One day to a new beginning”

“Raise the flag of freedom high!”

“Every man will be a king”

“Every man will be a king”

“There’s a new world for the winning”

“There’s a new world to be won”

“Do you hear the people sing?”

“Tomorrow we’ll discover
What our God in Heaven has in store!
One more dawn
One more day
One day more!”

 

Sorry .. but if you’re like me, there’s nothing quite like a little Les Mis to stir the soul. I am excited and optimistic, yet afraid to be too hopeful lest something goes terribly wrong tomorrow.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I am stomping around the house singing “2-4-6-0-1” and playing this video over and over again. Clearly, I am extremely busy.

8 Responses to “when in doubt, turn to Les Mis”

  1. November 4, 2008. I’ve been waiting forever! Of course we have to wait any hours to find out how you on Pacific time voted!

  2. Do you hear the people sing? Singing the song…
    Today is the day! My mom is on her way to watch my babies while I exercise my voting skills. Sweet.

  3. I’m afraid to hope and afraid not to.

  4. I’m hopeful, but I have a knot in the pit of my stomach. There are just too many things that can go wrong. I’ve been reading stories of voter suppression attempts and of issues at the polls. I’ll be glad when the night is over and we have a decision. I hope it is a landslide, so there can be do doubt.

  5. No matter the result, God is sovereign. 🙂 And I do love Les Miserables

  6. I’ve always wanted to see that play, but never have…….

  7. Agreed, the Ultimate Improv did a wonderful job on that video! Cheers!

  8. you may never see this, since it’s in your archives from 2008!
    but i just had to comment.
    when i was in line to vote for (our now president)… there was
    a beautiful black man up ahead of me in the line. with him was
    his little son, who looked to be about 7 yrs old. they were the only
    black people in line. the father had on an impeccable business suit.
    i got tears in my eyes. i was so moved. i wanted to say… this is for
    your grandfather and his grandfather and all those who were brought
    to this country as slaves and treated so poorly. this is for them. and it
    is for you! and it is finally for me… to know that this country that we
    always purported to be free, with equal opportunity for all… well it finally
    is closer to becoming that country.

Leave a Reply

