introducing .. Atlas

Since Atlas is staring at me – waiting for the second half of his dinner – I thought I would do a “7 things” post about him.

7. No, he is not a horse. Or a Great Dane. He is just a very tall weimaraner. I find it very convenient (I can pet him without bending down). So does he (his tongue is at counter height).

6. The one time I cooked roast beef, he sat in front of the oven door for the entire time; it took almost four hours (my oven has troubles). I almost never cook meat, so I figure he was trying to make sure it didn’t get away.

5. When I say “Atlas, fleas?”, or scratch my neck, he scratches himself. [I prefer to teach him fun things like tricks over useless things like heeling.]

4. Once, he ate an entire loaf of bread and a plate of goodies from a Super Bowl party. One of the treats was a chocolate cupcake. I taught him not to counter-surf immediately. It never happened again.

3. When he was a puppy, my coworkers used to ask for a list of everything he had eaten recently whenever I was in a meeting. The list was long – and funny. Finally, I learned to use a crate.

2. When I give up my bed for guests, they usually wake up in the morning to find out that he joined them during the night. And no, he doesn’t think to ask if they like dogs first.

1. Clearly, he is the most fabulous dog in the world – to me, anyway.

12 Responses to “introducing .. Atlas”

  1. I love your meet Atlas list. I’m going to have to think about that for Buddy and Buster. I know one thing on the list for Buster – he loves to eat shoes. Five pair now. The last ones my $165, doctor prescribed, walking shoes. Want a dog?

  2. Atlas has such a great personality. Your posts about him alays make me smile.

    Toni: my dog once at a guest pair of $90 shoes. Thought the guest was warned to close the bedroon door as I had a Kleptomaniac as a pet

  3. You’re making him special to me, too.

  4. p.s. I’ve got a giveaway going on, hop on over and nominate someone……you have been nominated by someone :o)

  5. he is a king! the cadillac king of all dogs in the universe!! but elizabeth please go and meet zippy so you can appreciate the alternative to the being the king of the universe… http://robinbird.typepad.com/bird_tweets/2008/03/you-are-my-suns.html

  6. hi elizabeth,
    thanks for watching zippy:)
    i sent you an e-mail to see if you want to go to silver falls on saturday… is that a possibility!?

  7. Elizabeth your Atlas sounds a lot like my SAM ~ ALWAYS up for a snack or a nice nap on the bed….dogs gotta love em

  8. I just remember Thanksgiving dinner with his staring and drooling. πŸ™‚ That was so cute. πŸ™‚

  9. toni: Oh dear, Atlas never ate anything that was medically necessary, thank goodness. Oh, Buster.

    liss: LOL

    ww: πŸ™‚

    robin: I have been calling him Mr. Cadillac lately! πŸ™‚

    ELK: so true – you do gotta love ’em. I would like Sam, I’m sure.

    amy: his drooling is funny, except when it’s on my leg. πŸ˜‰

  10. I’m on a roll tonight – this one I love as well – the perspective is absolutely delightful and I like to think it’s one I would have taken myself. So cool.

  11. you prefer to teach him fun things over useless things like heeling?????? i think you’re a little backward there:)

  12. sharyn: I’m glad you liked it

    helen: hey, I can’t help it that he pulls for you, LOL.

Leave a Reply

