lines on a birch tree

“Give me of your bark, O Birch-tree!

Of your yellow bark, O Birch-tree!

Growing by the rushing river,

Tall and stately in the valley!

I a light canoe will build me,

Build a swift Cheemaun for sailing,

That shall float on the river,

Like a yellow leaf in Autumn,

Like a yellow water-lily!

“Lay aside your cloak, O Birch-tree!

Lay aside your white-skin wrapper ..”

[from Hiawatha’s Sailing by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow]

15 Responses to “lines on a birch tree”

  1. Love the poem; love the image!

  2. my favorite tree. lovely.

  3. I was outside in the back yard today, filling in the hole at the fence that Buddy dug by the birch tree. I was looking at the bark while filling in the hole and thinking I needed to go back inside for my camera to get the tree trunk – I got the leafs the other day. I forgot to do that. Maybe tomorrow, but now I’ll look like I’m copying you. 🙄 🙂

  4. toni: perhaps I was copying you, using my intuition as to what you were thinking of photographing, of course. 😉

  5. This is my favourite tree too. I have some silver birch trees in my back yard. I always admire the anytime of year.

  6. what a great perspective for capturing this stately beauty!

  7. Not your usual perspective, I like it!

  8. love the yellow background.. looks really cool.

  9. I hope you dont mind but Frost’s poem has always been one of my favorites. It brings a lump to my throat and your posting Longfellow and this beautiful photo made me go search for it.

    Here is the last stanza:

    So was I once myself a swinger of birches;
    And so I dream of going back to be.
    It’s when I’m weary of considerations,
    And life is too much like a pathless wood 45
    Where your face burns and tickles with the cobwebs
    Broken across it, and one eye is weeping
    From a twig’s having lashed across it open.
    I’d like to get away from earth awhile
    And then come back to it and begin over. 50
    May no fate wilfully misunderstand me
    And half grant what I wish and snatch me away
    Not to return. Earth’s the right place for love:
    I don’t know where it’s likely to go better.
    I’d like to go by climbing a birch tree, 55
    And climb black branches up a snow-white trunk
    Toward heaven, till the tree could bear no more,
    But dipped its top and set me down again.
    That would be good both going and coming back.
    One could do worse than be a swinger of birches.


    One could do worse than this photo, too;> You’ve done a lovely job framing the fall color.

  10. Love your choice of focus. Colors are awesome!!!!

  11. Bark is my favorite! My husband thinks I’m a little weird in this regard, as others. But this photo… my favorite.

  12. It’s all great! I love the lines!

  13. […] dogs.  A fellow photo blogger, Elizabeth, posted a picture of some birches the other day – click here .  I had commented on her post that I had just been out in the yard filling in the latest hole […]

  14. i love this photograph – gorgeous color and focus.

Leave a Reply

