soup is good for the soul

one of my favorite fall rituals

is making a large pot of soup on Sunday afternoon or evening

nothing hits the spot after a chilly evening walk or run during the week

like a bowl of soup and a slice of bread

16 Responses to “soup is good for the soul”

  1. it looks curry-ish and wild rice-ish and yummy! it has been chilly here and soup was the faire of the week for us too.

  2. I’m not too sure about the soup, but the bowl is sure cute!! It is definitely soup weather here. Maybe some potato soup…I wonder where I can get some good potatoes? πŸ˜›

  3. No kidding… busting out the soups are the best! Your soup looked like butternut squash & rice… tastey.

  4. robin: you got it! it’s wild rice with curry and coconut milk (from Super Natural Cooking)

    toni: hmmmm .. I wonder, LOL.

    MaryAnn: almost. I have yet to try a butternut squash soup because I have such troubles trying to cut butternut squash. Trader Joe’s used to sell it pre-cut but I never saw it last season so haven’t checked this year.

  5. Looks as if it would warm the soul!

  6. We are huge soup eaters…. how ’bout a recipe? or did you already post one?

  7. julie: I promised a few other people the recipe. I will send it to you as well, though I appear to be a bit slow on the uptake .. πŸ˜‰

  8. Yum- This is making me hungry for some soup!!!!

  9. Looks very delicious! Butternut sqaush soup is worth the work, by the way, though I only like it in small bowls. I make it at Thanksgiving time and then there’s just enough for everyone to have a cup of soup w/ bread as an appetizer!

  10. Yum! I love warm soup and bread. I grew up with homemade bread which my mom still makes and there’s nothing like it in the fall and winter. Beautiful bowl, too!

  11. Mmmmmmmm I completely agree with you!!! I love sitting on a ledge high up in the hills on a cold autumn afternoon, with a flask of hot chunky soup im my hands. The perfect thing to warm you from top to toe.

    By the way, do you have the recipe for the soup in your photo? It looks sooooo scrumptious!

  12. Soup and crusty bread, is so yummy. The colour of the soup is so interesting too. Curry and wild rice – sounds very nice.

  13. angie: if you lived closer, you could come over for a bowl. πŸ™‚

    amy: πŸ™‚

    holly: I will have to try making it this winter sometime

    leanne: oh, I love homemade bread. Maybe that should be another fall project!

    graham: sent! I hope you enjoy

    liss: it was lovely; however, my soup ladle is now a strangely brownish black color from the curry, LOL

  14. Hmmm. Lovely! I am looking forward to trying the recipe sometime this winter….

Leave a Reply

