“sadness is but a wall between two gardens”

So apparently I needed more than an evening to process the news; I needed a day.

I caught up on email yesterday morning and then took the rest of the day as a vacation day. After a happy sad day spent with the pup, I went to sleep. It is amazing what a difference a day makes in your perspective as I woke up this morning with my usual sunny optimism. I did, however, cancel my trip to China next week. Along with the news about Atlas, I learned that my grama was admitted to the hospital with pneumonia on Tuesday night so it just did not feel like a good time to be thousands of miles away from home.

But .. while I was doing some google searching, I came across a sadness meditation. The basic premise seems to be that when you try to distract yourself from the sadness, it remains in the back of your mind, always present. If you allow yourself to actually feel the sadness, however, it will eventually leave you – and leave peace in its place. This made a great deal of sense to me so I thought I’d try it. I must say, it worked like a charm. After a few minutes of forcing myself to sink deep into the sadness, it went away – completely.

[quote by Kahlil Gibran]

13 Responses to ““sadness is but a wall between two gardens””

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your Grandma and Atlas- I’ll try the meditation, the next time I’m blue. The picture is beautiful, too.

  2. Hope grandma is better soon too! Good word about accepting the sadness, rather than ignoring it.

  3. A glorious image. Beautifully composed.

  4. Through sadness and tears there is healing. I’m sorry to hear about your grandmother, I hope she has a speedy recovery. You and Atlas hang in there.

  5. Lush photo. Was it perhaps taken at the Chinese Formal Garden in downtown Portland? My husband’s grandmother (actually the much younger wife of his step-grandfather and not blood relation…long story) who passed away three years suggested that the three of us spend a day there and it was very memorable. I miss her phone calls, thus, I can relate to your concern about your grandma’s illness. Pity to cancel such a trip, but I doubt you’ll ever regret carving out this time for her and for Atlas.

  6. What a beautiful tree. I am glad you feel a little better today.
    Sorry to here about your China trip. I, myself plan to goto China next year, unfortunately it keeps getting pushed back on me as my boss wont allow me to have that much time off work. I have negotiated next June – July with him now.

  7. Let the sadness in and feel it. I know you’ll keep finding peace and softly move through grief. Thank you for such a lovely picture. It expresses the mood beautifully.

  8. Love the happy colors in this image. Glad to hear you’re feeling a little better today.

  9. amy i: do! I found it very helpful.

    MaryAnn/toni: thanks for the kind thoughts!

    michael: thanks

    lydia: it was actually taken at the Japanese Garden – definitely recommend a springtime visit. I have not visited the Chinese Garden yet but have heard it’s also gorgeous.

    liss: wow – two months! that will be a fantastic trip! I can’t wait to see photos.

    kym: thank you. I need to, or else I’ll spend the rest of his life being sad – and that would be a pity.

    marcie: thanks!

  10. I am sorry to hear about your pup and your grandma’s illness. Thinking of you… I love the idea in the quote and the meditation you described. Isn’t it so that we must fully experience and process a situation before we can move on… to the next garden.

  11. When it rains, it pours…….I am so happy that you are working through this in this particular way……please take care of yourself during this time..

  12. thinking of you and praying for you, your family, and your grandma. it was wise if you to take the time you need to be sad, process, and emerge from it. like you said to someone else.. can’t go on being sad the rest of your life. 🙂 take care of yourself. sending you a long distance hug… ok, lots of them. 🙂

  13. Yes, that’s right. The way lies through and not from outside the emotion. Similarly many things require conflict and can’t be solved by fake offers of peace and whiny pacifism.

Leave a Reply

