it was one of those days

It was a perfect afternoon at the coast. I was smiling as I hopped into the car and turned the key in the ignition, ready to head home and get some food into my stomach. The car didn’t start.

I did my usual bit of troubleshooting – which really just consists of checking whether the battery for the anti-theft device is low (the usual culprit). That didn’t seem to be the case.

I called my dad and ran through his troubleshooting steps. Still no luck.

I asked if anyone in the parking lot had jumper cables. They didn’t. They also had no ideas.

I called my roadside service number. They told me that they couldn’t send anyone out until they knew the cross street, and didn’t seem to care that I was in the parking lot of a state park and whoever they sent out would be able to find the park by following the signs from Hwy 101 to Fort Stevens State Park, the same as everyone else does.

I called the manager’s office and asked if anyone there had jumper cables. They did! The guy was there within minutes. This is where the fun began. We couldn’t find my battery. At all. It wasn’t in the usual location, and didn’t appear be anywhere in plain sight. Finally, the guy decided to listen to the noise himself to see if it really was a low battery, grabbed my keys, and the car started right up. I promised him that I really had tried it – many times – but I’m pretty sure he went off shaking his head.

Anyway .. I am suspicious that it really is the anti-theft device. I believe that it is finally time to call Toyota and see if I can de-activate it since the only thing it has ever prevented – is me from driving my own car. Many times.

9 Responses to “it was one of those days”

  1. Aw, well I’m glad it started back up for you…….it may not have gone over so well if you hadn’t just spent the first half of the day enjoying the coast!

  2. You need a plain jane car like my pickup. It is completely manual. Manual transmission, manual windows, manual mirror adjustment, manual door locks. Manual everything. Ha! Just remember the first part of the day and not the last. 🙂

  3. This is beautiful. So tranquil.

  4. when I saw this photo, i just went “uh! ahh.” what a lovely view. 🙂
    It is the reverse emotion of your ToyNOta event. Frustration!

  5. true, Jen, but the frustration was momentary – I posted it more because I thought the ending was humorous. I love Toyota. 🙂

  6. So, where was your battery then? If it’s not in the usual spot, I’d surely bring it in! Funny story though. He was probably feeling dumb that he couldn’t locate your battery!!!!!

  7. no idea .. it was probably underneath. I shall have to remember to ask the next time I bring it somewhere. 🙂

  8. I’ve had that happen before too. Yuck, so embarrassing.

  9. that is funny. Murphy’s Law isn’t it!!

    My battery died not so long ago but luckily at work so I had a few guys that could help me get home till I could call the roadside guys out to replace it.

Leave a Reply

