of Ike and men

I caught a bit of the news today and saw the waves crashing into the seawall in Galveston. They were so large and powerful, and Ike was still many hours away. Hopefully everyone was able to leave – and no lives are lost.

Whenever I think of Galveston, I think of a favorite series of books from my younger years. The heroine of each book was living through an important event or time in American history. One such heroine was Darcy. She lived through the Galveston hurricane of 1900 – still considered the nation’s worst natural disaster.

7 Responses to “of Ike and men”

  1. in case you’re wondering, this is a photo of Galveston

  2. Oh, I did love those books. I was just telling Katherine how much I loved Marilee the most, and how I still love the name. She doesn’t, though.

  3. I love the darkness of the chain looping through the foreground of this picture. It gives a remoteness to the rest of the scene.

  4. amy: probably for the best. The poor future child would have an aunt who’d always be singing, “Merrily we roll along ..” 😉
    kym: I’m glad you liked it.

  5. Love the colors and harbor view.

  6. I remember those books- I think Amanda was my favorite. (She was on a wagon train- torn between two boys, of course.) :o) The one from the Titantic was pretty good, too.

  7. I loved Caroline (went out west disguised as a boy). Humorously, I think a lot of my remembered history comes from these books. A nod to the importance of making history fun to learn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

