the elements of life

One of my favorite basic financial planning books is Smart Women Finish Rich. One of the first exercises the author asks you to do is to create a values ladder. The values ladder allows you to recognize what is important to you in life – and subsequently how to create a financial plan that aligns with those values. I keep my list of values on an index card in the book. When I look at the list today, it still applies.

I also have a list (unwritten) of the things that I am passionate about. It occurred to me that the two lists correlate. I can take the things that I am passionate about and connect them to one or more of my values. Sometimes the connection is subtle, and sometimes it is obvious, but it is always there.

Why is this important, you ask? I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase – know thyself. For me, this is a big part of it. Understanding what is important to me allows me to create a life that aligns with my values, and to simplify my life down to the things that are most important to me. And really, isn’t that what we all want?

7 Responses to “the elements of life”

  1. Well said……funny you should mention a financial planning book…..

    In all seriousness, I just started reading one last night that I bought AGES ago….called Women and Money……I really think it’s going to give me the insight I need right now, not just about money, but my life in general.

    p.s. I love the crashing waves, it really makes me vacation-sick, especially for Big Sur πŸ™‚

  2. ww: that’s one of the few I haven’t read, but I like her others. I hope it helps! btw – they are Big Sur waves. πŸ™‚

  3. the correlation, the connection, the thread is what keeps all aspects of our life together. its funny when that aha moment happens, fades, then happens again…like the tide, our awareness and purpose can come in quietlly or with a thundering crash!

  4. and yes, there are 2 l’s in quietlly.

  5. That’s some deep stuff, Elizabeth. Well said stuff, too. It sounds like a good exercise to do. Maybe after the weekend when my company leaves I can give it some thought and put it down on paper. It is always more real and important once it is down on paper.

  6. Love the simplicity of the waves hitting the rocks. I can almost hear the sound of the surf!

  7. jen: so true, and beautifully written.

    toni: it’s an exercise I enjoy! but not when I have company for sure. πŸ™‚

    marcie: thanks!

Leave a Reply

