the life of a fisherman

During one hike in Colorado, I wanted to get a photo of the people fly-fishing below the dam. The problem was that they kept glancing up at me, and I didn’t want them to think I was staring. Which, of course, I was. And when I tried to hide behind the trees, I couldn’t see the fishing poles. In the end, I settled for this. [Note that I took this photo in sepia mode; I still have not figured out how to use Photoshop to do the same.]

Why no, I haven’t taken any photos in about a week. Can you tell?

5 Responses to “the life of a fisherman”

  1. I like that shot in sepia – it looks old timey. I have a hard time with achieving sepia in Photoshop, too. You do it in Channel Mixer, but I always seem to get too much yellow in it. I ended up downloading a free program Paint.Net and with the touch of a button, sepia. I don’t think my camera does sepia. I’m gonna have to check that out. 🙂

  2. Love the timelessness of the sepia processing. REally nice….

  3. You can also do a sepia tone in PS by changing the image to grayscale, then to a duotone and choosing black and a brown….or a variation thereof.

    Neat shot….reminds me of you and Mel trying to sneak pictures of the fisherman on Roker Pier our first walk out that way. Hard to believe that was 10 years ago this fall!

  4. thanks for the help and comments, all!

Leave a Reply

