breaking all the rules

I think the Shutter Sisters did a post a while back about purposefully breaking some of the rules of photography. I was reminded of that post when I saw this image. Apparently I completely disregarded the rule of thirds when I was composing the shot and, somehow, I still like it. I think I really just like the hardiness of this little flower – it has managed to thrive all alone in the rocks and the sand.

6 Responses to “breaking all the rules”

  1. I think rules are meant to be broken. I see why you like this shot. 🙂

  2. I think it’s cute that you think you broke the rule :o) It looks perfectly centered to me!

  3. but that’s the thing .. I never take photos where the subject is in the center, at least photos I really like – I like them to be where one of the 3 horizontal and vertical lines meet because it almost always looks better to me. 🙂

  4. Uh Oh, I’ve never heard of the rule of threes…Now, I’m going to be frozen when I take photos wondering whether real photographers are going to be sneering when they see my photos.

  5. BTW, though, I like this image, too. It is sweet and simple.

  6. I’m not a big fan of rules. This image is lovely.

Leave a Reply

