what’s in your fridge?

My fridge was having issues, so they replaced it on Friday. Since I had to empty the contents out and put them in the new fridge, I thought it would be fun to see what it contained.

: 2 pints of blackberries, 1 pint of blueberries, and 12oz of raspberries

: bowl of watermelon

: 4 1/2 bottles of Izze (grapefruit, blackberry, pomegranate, blueberry)

: 2 containers of vanilla hemp milk (they were out of almond milk, my usual choice)

: mango kombucha

: last of my granola

: bowl that contains the start of a slaw (head of cabbage, onion, celery – sliced)

: gigantic container of plain nonfat yogurt (the pup’s)

: half a container of whole milk, cream-on-top, vanilla yogurt (mine)

: dozen eggs

: assorted nuts (sliced almonds, walnuts, almonds)

: 2 jars of pickles (dill pickle halves and dill pickle slices)

: baking soda

: 4 mini containers of apple blueberry sauce

: rare appearance of meat (a rosemary garlic lamb chop and 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts – the latter are likely the pup’s)

: 2 1/2 bottles of sparkling mineral water (lemon-lime, tangerine, lime)

: dregs of a container of vanilla almond milk

: pomegranate peach passion fruit white tea

: shredded parmigiano reggiano and a shredded Mexican cheese blend

: bunch of spinach, 2 zucchinis, yellow beans, and a cucumber

: assorted staples (Miracle Whip, molasses, agave nectar, Madras curry mustard, lemon juice, cherry butter, cashew macademia butter, Carlson’s cod liver oil, flaxseed with blueberries, honey mustard salad dressing, maple syrup, butter)

: dog treats

14 Responses to “what’s in your fridge?”

  1. A great little exercise in seeing what it is that we collect and eat. Very creative image.

  2. Mostly very yummy. Is that Izze any good? I’ve seen it around but never bought it.

    J

    http://adventuresinvoluntarysimplicity.blogspot.com/

  3. I think I would have a heart attack if I had to clean out my fridge. I don’t even want to know what’s in there.

  4. Marcie: it was fun! I do enjoying seeing others’ cupboards so thought it would be neat to look at mine the same way. It made me realize that I have a lot more non-water-drinks than is normal, so it must be summer. 🙂

    Jack: the grapefruit is excellent. No verdict yet on the others.

    Lauren: that might be a good reason to clean it, then. 😉

  5. You have some very interesting stuff in there, Elizabeth. Interesting also to see what you consider staples. No ketchup?!? How do you use the vanilla almond milk?

  6. Nope, no ketchup. I think I cut it out when I started avoiding things with added sugar. Sometimes it would be nice though ..

    I usually drink almond milk in place of regular milk. So in cereal or with oatmeal or granola or berries or just to drink. Ironically, it does have sugar added, but regular milk seems to aggravate allergies.

    Ok – cherry butter is not a staple, nor is molasses, but I didn’t think they deserved their own line. 🙂

  7. Ha! This was a good one. I like mango kombucho – TASTY! I was surprised at the Miracle Whip, but I like it too. One of the foods that Phil & I disagree on. If you haven’t tried the natural stuff w/ omega-3s, it is really good also.

  8. Angela – LOL. I’d love to give up Miracle Whip (because of the hfcs) but I cannot find a replacement. Mayonnaise = ugh. I’ve been told that veganaise might be ok but I’ve yet to try it. I just use very little of it .. I’ll look for the natural stuff – thanks!

  9. Ok.. nice picture, but if you’re wondering why you’re chronically tired, where are the iron-containing foods – red meat or dark leafy greens? love, your concerned sister

  10. dear concerned sister: spinach is a dark leafy green.

    love, your no-longer-chronically-tired sister (vitamin D, baby!)

    😉

  11. Intriguing list…I had to chuckle at your staples, tho…cherry butter etc. 😉 I’m wishing those zucchini were in my fridge….I’m craving zucchini bread!

    This was an interesting post….if I were listing the contents of our fridge, it would be very mundane….that and pretty sparce….I need to do some g-shopping!

  12. becca: yeah, as I commented to Toni, cherry butter & molasses are not staples, but I didn’t feel like giving them their own line, LOL.

    The zucchini are for grilled zucchini – part of tomorrow’s dinner, yum!

  13. You can make homemade omega 3 mayonaise- I haven’t tried it yet, but have been intending to for about…4 months maybe. I have the recipe from a natural foods book, if you want it drop me an email.

  14. Within the art, I learned something about you. Or maybe it’s something about me. You follow an extremely healthy diet- I envy that. There is more than Diet Coke that I can’t seem to give up…I won’t go into details, in fear of making myself look…well, not as strong as you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

