“in california I am almost free”

It is a very California-y week. I was in Sacramento yesterday and today for training, and am leaving tomorrow for San Francisco – for another training class. It is bringing back lots of fond memories of my life there.

my first real job .. succeeding in that job .. learning that I was capable of surviving and thriving on my own .. making new friends .. figuring out who I was .. exploring California .. getting my puppy .. new experiences .. Lake Tahoe .. rowing .. karate .. cooking classes .. Sierra Club hikes .. the Tower Theatre .. surfing lessons .. buying a car on my own .. our ‘women’s group’ .. bunco .. kayaking on Lake Natoma .. book club .. concerts in Golden Gate Park .. international travel ..

I am not sorry that I moved on – Oregon has captured my heart and soul in a way that I am not sure any other place ever has – but I am ever so grateful for all my years in California.

5 Responses to ““in california I am almost free””

  1. That’s a cool shot, Elizabeth. I was born in California and lived there until I was 15 before my family moved to Nebraska. Talk about culture shock. 🙂

  2. I like Oregon better too – at least for visiting. 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a lot of fun! I didn’t know that you took surfing?! Awesome! There’s a blog idea for you, tell us about that! 🙂

  4. Toni: I agree!

    Amy: good to know. 🙂

    Angela: I took lessons one weekend; whether or not I learned to surf was debatable. Heh. Good idea – I’ll post a photo from that weekend when I’m in a photo-taking lull!

  5. Another nicely framed shot. You have a great eye!

Leave a Reply

