the taste of spring

I bought two 16oz containers of strawberries on Sunday morning. By Monday, they were gone. Perhaps they would’ve lasted longer if I hadn’t settled down on the couch with the bowl of freshly washed berries and a fork. And Atlas likes strawberries so, naturally, I had to share.

On Tuesday, I bought three more containers, and have been enjoying them in my breakfast smoothies — strawberries, bananas, and arugula or kale — ever since.

I did make an exception when I bought these because they were from California; however, they were surprisingly fresh. Now, I cannot wait until they come into season here.

7 Responses to “the taste of spring”

  1. I like the blue and red.. it looks so happy. I think that they would be the perfect thing to snack..

  2. Yummy! can’t wait ’til their in season here…

  3. Julie – I saw the colander and couldn’t resist replacing mine – the color is so vibrant that it makes me smile whenever I use it.

    Jan – hopefully you don’t have too long to wait. I am anxious to visit the farmers’ market this weekend and see what they have.

  4. Funny, I was never a fan of strawberries until I had some fresh ones with cream and sugar. That is a WONDERFUL way to eat them! 🙂

  5. that’s what I had for dinner, sort of – sliced strawberries with cream-on-top yogurt. so so good. I also love strawberries with milk and sugar.

  6. Strawberries with sour cream and brown sugar. Good stuff. Wonderful photo!

  7. oooh – Toni – that sounds good! I’ll have to remember to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

