engineer or no

In the interest of full disclosure, I am an engineer by trade, but not, I usually say, by nature.

A year or so ago, I started on a multi-year plan to simplify my life and to live a bit more lightly. As part of that plan, I decided to track my 2008 income and expenses for a while (somewhat following the Your Money or Your Life program), to make sure that my spending aligns with my values. Mostly, it does, but I’m interested in the actual percentages.

How am I tracking this, you ask? I created a spreadsheet! The spreadsheet is very detailed. The categories are deep. It is color-coded. Soon, there will be graphs. Oh, I suppose I could’ve bought Quicken, but I thought it would be more fun to create my own – from scratch.

This is when it should occur to me that my nature is probably more like an engineer’s than I care to admit.

3 Responses to “engineer or no”

  1. You’re very much like my engineer who prefers to create lots of detailed spreadsheets in Excel rather than use Quicken…..our finances are documents down to the penny monthly in Excel. =)

  2. yes, very engineery. 🙂

  3. amy, humph .. 😉

    becca, yay, someone else thinks it’s fun!!

Leave a Reply

